10:59 p.m. | 2005-02-09

How�s The Weather?

I�ve been making a lot of phone calls lately (uh, work-related), and have left a ton of messages. It�s important to make those calls, but once I do, yeah I kind of forget about them. Then I get a huge influx of return calls that are somewhat random.

I don�t leave great messages either. I mean that in the sense that I sometimes lose track of whom I�m calling and what message I left. Sometimes, I leave great messages and sometimes I just ramble aimlessly. (However, I�m working on that since I gave up babbling for Lent and I�m now concentrating on listening. A rather challenging Lenten season is what I�m experiencing. Obviously.)

Anyway, I received a return call today that really threw me for a loop. Here�s some of that.

(CI:) Good Afternoon, MyWorkPlace, This is CI.

(Professional Guy:) Hi, it�s PG. How�s the weather up there?

(CI:) (Not understanding since �how�s the weather up there� is a perfunctory tall �opposite� joke amongst really tall and short people. �How�s the weather down there� is the correct response or question, of course. It�s a secret language some of us share. That some of us doesn�t include all you �average� people. Just so you know. Anyway, I don�t know PG so that threw me.) Uh, �how�s the weather?� It�s, um, okay. Nice, I guess.

(PG:) I was just asking because I was recently up there and it was really nice.

(CI:) (Huh?) Sure, it�s nice.

(PG:) Look, I�m not speaking in secret code or anything. I�m just asking about the weather. That�s all.

(CI:) Hey, do work out of this (southern) office or out of this (northern) office?

(PG:) Both. But, I�m working out of this (southern) office today.

(CI:) Okay. So you�re actually asking about the weather. It�s fabulous today. Really. Sorry, the �up there� really threw me.

And yes, there is a secret code between short and tall people. In this case however, there was also another potential secret code. Sometimes, it gets all weird like that.

Even when you�re merely talking about the weather.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003