11:14 p.m. | 2005-02-21

Sometimes, I Hate It When I�m Right.

More precisely, I hate it when my gut tells me something dreadful and it turns out to be true. Otherwise, if you want to be right� well, you�re right. Excepting soap box issues, of course, but when it comes to that, I consider myself to be passionate rather than right. It�s a toss up though.

But remember how I told you there was a possible violent domestic violence situation down the hall? Yeah. This evening, I came back from taking out the trash to discover two cops at my neighbors� door. Mind you, the neighbors are down the hall. I hadn�t heard any fighting tonight, but then again, you can only hear stuff when you�re in the hall. Pretty much.

My upstairs neighbors? They could be verbally assaulting each other every night, but I�d never hear it. If I went upstairs and stood in the hallway, I could give you a word-for-word record of it. Sound travels funny in this building.

Anyway, I was surprised to see cops in the building. It�s not a normal occurrence at all. Or ever. I automatically went back to my place, but I hesitated at the door and looked back. It was not a good situation. And, I couldn�t move. It was serious.

Somehow, I couldn�t find it within me to go back outside, to approach the cops or to go inside my place. I was stuck. I couldn�t very well interrupt their attempts to get a response nor could I turn my back.

After a distinct lack of response from my neighbors, a cop asked me a few questions. I answered them as best I could. Because I could not be silent. My armchair diagnosis of DV was only that � just a feeling based on some pretty damning circumstantial evidence � but I could tell them what I knew. And, I did. I may pay for that later, but I couldn�t be silent.

I didn�t call the cops and I have no idea how they showed up in such a small amount of time. When I left to take out the trash, they weren�t there, but there they were moments later. I�ve lived in a lot of different places and I hear a lot of stuff, but I don�t call the cops if I don�t know what�s going on. And, I had no idea there was some more fighting going on tonight.

My DV presumption appears to be accurate. The cops had to bash the door in after an hour of trying to gain access. Our doors are solid, which is one reason you can�t hear a lot, but that one? Not so much anymore. I don�t know exactly what the result was but I�m quite sure he was arrested.


It�s a little odd to me that this happened at TheHotel. As far as �apartments� go, this place is very swanky. I really don�t know how �these people� got in here, to say it frankly. Which goes back to something I also said before � �these people� are everywhere. Domestic violence isn�t limited to any particular category� it abounds all over the place. And, to repeat myself again, it�s not limited to physical violence.

That said, I don�t think the owners are gonna take kindly to repairing a door that was busted down due to criminal conduct. There may be criminal conduct in this building � one never knows � but if it�s happening, it�s certainly not blatant. Or even apparent.

And, that would have to follow all the background checks they do on you before you can even live here. That�s why I had guessed that it was her name on the lease. He, presumably, came along for the ride. (I�m quite sure he has priors. Again, gut feeling based on observation.)


What�s interesting to me is that I�ve become more involved over the years. I�ve been questioned by cops, informally, a couple of times. At the scene. Both times, I just told them what I knew without any thought about the consequences. After the first time, the perpetrators tried their best to intimidate me but fortunately, I was one step ahead of them. This time? I�m not so sure. Both my neighbors might get really pissed at my participation. I�m not so worried about her, but I am concerned about him.

None of those thoughts crossed my mind when I was talking though because I knew she was getting the crap beat out of her. I couldn�t not talk. It�s just one of those things.

Lets just hope she doesn�t bail his ass out. Which is probably exactly what she�s going to do. We�ll just see what happens I guess.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003