10:55 p.m. | 2005-02-22

A New Pair Of Shoes And A New Gait. That�s A Lot In One Day. Trust Me.

In case you didn�t know, I�m a heel-walker. Essentially, I walk like a football player, except in a more feminine way. So, I�m not used to walking on the balls of my feet. Mix it up with a pair of heels � as modest as they are � and, today, I achieved some sort of gait I�ve never had before.

I used to wear heels everyday over ten years ago and I walked naturally. Not so much anymore. However, the shoes I just bought have a much greater slope. And, I�ve been indulging my heel-walking ways for a lot of years. My new gait? It appears that the balls of my feet are competing with my heels.

Yet, I didn�t fall down. I consider that an accomplishment no matter what footwear I have on. Nor did I get blisters � which is great � but I didn�t expect to considering the actual price of my new shoes. I have to say that my legs got a really good workout however, I was thrilled to come home and take my shoes off. Couldn�t wait to walk normal again.

I can�t believe I�m talking all about shoes. Please feel free to shoot me on sight.


It seems really shallow to talk about shoes but it�s not a shallow subject to me. I�ve always loved new shoes. Mostly, because I rarely had new shoes. (I know, I sound like a depression-era child� but pretty much, I was. Except that I came much later. I was a �60s child raised like a �30s child.) So, no new shoes for me, basically.

When I got new shoes, I would only wear them when I had to (school and church). Everyday play, I didn�t wear shoes. Even though we had to play outside. I can remember tackling dirt, gravel and snow without any difficulty.

So, what did I do with my new shoes back then? I wore them proudly to both school and church and them I slept with them every night. Not in a weird fetish way, just that I would tuck them in at the end of my bed to make sure they�d be there in the morning. (Remember, I had three sisters. Missing shoes were not uncommon.)

You�ll probably be relieved to know that I�ve not tucked my shoes into bed since I was five years old. In fact, my new shoes are aligned with my old shoes already. Under my bed ironically, since I have no storage space. And, I definitely have no desire to sleep with them, cherish them or anything weird like that. But, I do appreciate a new pair of shoes.

My grace is in my appreciation rather than in my walking. That�s certainly evident.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003