10:44 p.m. | 2005-03-09

An Interesting Day, To Say The Least.

I received a phone call today that really surprised me. It was a work-related call and the person on the other end gave me a huge amount of praise. That�s always welcome, of course, but truly, I don�t expect calls like that. Mostly because people are much more apt to share complaints rather than compliments.

I mean, think about it for a minute. You might think a hundred positive thoughts about a person or people every day, but do you voice them? Most people usually find their voice when they�re spouting negative stuff. How often do you give voice to your positive thoughts? I try to do that every day but I often fall short of my own expectations. And when I lend my verbosity to a compliment, it�s often not received well. I get strange looks when I gush about someone�s great qualities and I think it�s because many people just aren�t used to receiving positive messages about themselves. Or, maybe that�s just my own issue.

Ahem, moving along now.


It was a really busy day but I managed to get away to have lunch with BestestGirlfriend. It�s been too long since we�ve lunched together. By the way, she�s doing great� just got promoted, a raise and an office with a view. Yay!

We engaged in our normal talky-talk. I�d share it with you but it was predominately personal in nature. But I will say that she also complimented me quite a bit.

I�m surprised my head fit back into the doorway when I returned to work. Ha. Just joking. However, I must say that I don�t normally receive all this great feedback on a normal day. Or maybe ever.


You can imagine my surprise then when it continued. I was called a �leader� even. (I�ve been in management positions more than once, but it doesn�t really suit me.) Not only a leader (workwise) but, in addition, a sort of person that people come to for opinions and/or advice on all aspects of life.

Wow. That�s big. And, I had no idea that some people feel that way.

I mean, people do come to me for all sorts of things, but I�ve never thought it was because they thought I actually knew what I was talking about. I figured it was because I�ll give an opinion or whatever.

Apparently, some people think I�m quite knowledgeable. I think I know some things. But mostly? Yeah, not so much. I know enough to know that I don�t really know that much.


However, I do know my work phone number. I was surprised today to discover that someone sent out an email (work-related) to many, many people that inadvertently included my phone number as a contact number. I discovered that when random people called me about something I know nothing about.

Ironically, it turns out that I know the person who sent out the email and I discovered where they work. Totally a freak thing, by the way. Mess up a couple of digits and it throws the whole thing. Know what I mean?

Anyway, I�ll probably be inundated with calls for the next couple of days but no matter. I know where to refer them. Interestingly, I haven�t seen or talked to this person for several years. Not because I don�t like them, just happenstance. People move around.

And, they also make full circles. Today was a good example of that, actually.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003