10:58 p.m. | 2005-03-07

It�s All About Perspective.

I attended a scheduled meeting today. Nothing atypical about that. Didn�t know where I was going at first, but I figured it out, attended and nothing earth-shattering happened. Not that I�d expected anything earth-shattering to happen � it all went much like I anticipated actually � except the last part.

When I left the room, I almost ran right into a camera. Like a TV camera; one of those big ones. I see them all the time and duck them as much as possible. That usually just entails taking a different route or slinking along the wall. Mostly, I try to stay off camera, so to speak. I don�t have anything to hide, just that my mug really isn�t so ready for prime time � or whatever time. I�m camera shy. What can I say?

Fortunately, this particular camera was perpendicular to my path. I strode out of the room at a quick pace, almost ran into the camera and then ducked under it, literally, to proceed. I saw quite a crowd out of the corner of my eye � in the direction the camera was facing � but have no actual idea of what the camera person was filming.

Frankly? I hate those �false walls�. The ones created by anyone (meaning all you all who are taller than me, which pretty much includes all of you) or any sudden obstacle. Like cameras, wild beasts roaming about freely or sandwich signs. Okay, I�ve not randomly encountered any wild beasts, but horses? When you don�t expect them? Yeah, same thing.

I�m just happy I didn�t run into the camera. Again, I don�t know what they were filming, but that wouldn�t have been good.


I haven�t mentioned the cameras in a while. They�re around a lot. But come Spring? Tons more out there. There are several colleges and tons of creative folks in MyTown so there�s a lot of random filming that happens. More than most people would think. More than you would think.

Had you told me ten years ago that I�d be dodging cameras? I would�ve dubbed you crazy. Not me! Not in MyTown! But yeah, it happens. And, they film the most boring stuff you�d ever imagine. When they�re not filming the exciting things. Or whatever.

It�s just something I�ve learned to deal with, except that part about almost hitting my head on the cameras while going about my business. They take up a lot of space, just saying. Especially when there�s a tripod involved.

And, I don�t even know the half of it since I�m not a reality TV star. Cameras and a camera crew 24/7? Bleckh. Even two hours? Bleckh. However, I�d love to see a show about the day in the life of a camera person. That�s gotta be fascinating in so many different ways.

I�d even interview a camera person on camera. Okay, probably not. It�s more likely that I�d find a camera person willing to be interviewed, make those arrangements and come up with the questions. Much like camera people, I�m a behind the scenes type of person. I�m more fascinated with the process than with the results.

And, I�d much rather run into a camera than be the focus of one.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003