10:14 p.m. | 2005-03-24

The Accidental Scofflaw.

When I moved into TheHotel, it was with the understanding that my rent included utilities. Great. However, right before I moved in, they installed a new stove in MyPlace. Because I�m a hair-splitter when it comes to words and whatnot, I had noticed that the term �utilities� wasn�t actually the term used in all the paperwork. Rather, the term used was �electricity�. And, of course, my new stove was gas. Hence, I set about to clarify everything. Because, I�m a hair-splitter. Here�s how that went.

(CI:) Does my rent include �utilities� or �electricity�?

(HotelManager:) Utilities.

(CI:) So that would include my gas stove, right?

(HM:) Yes. Your rent includes electricity.

(CI:) But I have a gas stove so is that covered by my rent or do I need to make some arrangements?

(HM:) Yes, it�s covered because your rent includes utilities.

(CI:) So, I don�t need to make any arrangements about the stove then?

(HM:) TheHotel covers electricity so no you don�t have to make any other arrangements.

(CI:) Well okay, great.

You know, I loved that HotelManager. One of the sweetest persons I�ve ever known. Great spirit, wonderful personality and super friendly. But, not one for the details.

However, I must admit that I realized there was a discrepancy in this exchange and I meant to follow up on it, but I didn�t. Partly because I moved in during a summer heat wave and had no immediate plans to use my gas stove.

Just to note, everything else in MyPlace is electric. And, more importantly, I never received any notification that anything was amiss. Until recently, that is.


Yeah, I received a letter from the gas company � it was addressed to �Current Occupant� � that stated I needed to call them if I wanted to continue my service uninterrupted. Of course, I called. Here�s some of that.

(CI:) Hi, I received a letter from you guys. I need to know what you want.

(GasCompany:) What�s your account number?

(CI:) Uh� I don�t have one?

(GC:) Okay. Give me your address.

(CI:) I live RightHere.

(GC:) Hmmm. How long have you lived there?

(CI:) Almost two years.

(GC:) Oh okay, that�s about the time the service started.

(CI:) I was told TheHotel was paying for this, but I�m guessing I�ll be paying for this. What�s the damage?

(GC:) Let me check. Wow. You don�t really use that many therms. Do you even turn your heater on or use hot water?

(CI:) Everything�s electric except the stove.

(GC:) Oh. You don�t cook much do you?

(CI:) I cook all the time I just don�t use the stove/oven much. (Crockpot cooking, you gotta love the efficiency there.)

(GC:) Well, I can�t actually tell you how much you owe for the last year and nine months, but based on the therms you�ve used? I�d say maybe $10.

(CI:) Phew. Okay, that�s not a problem. However, as my use is so minimal, are you going to send me monthly bills for 39�? I mean, can you bill me on say a 6-month basis or something?

(GC:) We�re going to send you monthly bills but you can overpay it and then we�ll just apply future charges to your credit.

(CI:) That works for me. Thanks.


I have to admit that I really didn�t quite believe that my bill would be $10 bucks. I figured that they hunted me down for a much larger sum and were merely understating the situation to garner my cooperation.

Happily, I was wrong. I received my bill the other day. For service for 1 year and 9 months, I now owe the Gas Company $3.90. That, of course, explains why they let it slide for so long.

I�ll send them $10. That should cover me for quite a spell considering the fact that I don�t use a lot of therms. Generally speaking. I�m certainly not a therm abuser, as is evident.

My vices? I pick them carefully. And obviously, therms just didn�t make that list.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003