10:22 p.m. | 2005-07-21

If This Had Been A Pick-up Line, I�d Be One Of The Worst. Yet, It Would�ve Garnered My Attention. Such As It Did.

I�ve been undergoing some medical tests recently. Today, I went back to my doctor�s office for the results. She had this to say.

Has anyone ever told you that you have a thyroid problem?

No. No one has ever told me that. Ever. It�s clear though, looking at the test results, that I have a thyroid issue. Actually, after reviewing my medical history, it�s clear that I�ve had this problem for many years. I�m glad she brought it to my attention. She asked me if I experience any of the following symptoms.

Fatigue, muscle aches, dry skin, weight gain, slow heart rate, sensitivity to cold, or dry or brittle hair that tends to fall out easily.

YES. All of the above. Every single day. For many, many years.

But, I actually wasn�t there for that. I was supposed to do more testing today but I couldn�t because a really critical light didn�t work. The solution proffered was a flashlight. Yeah. We both quickly decided that today was not the day for testing.

So, now I�m on thyroid medication. Lets hope that works.


In other news, I�m changing. Not in a chameleon type of way. Quite the opposite actually. I�ve been stepping into myself lately. Because I have a real independent nature, some people might think that I stepped into myself a long time ago. Not so much. I�ve always had a foot in the door, so to speak, but I�m really starting to take charge of myself now.

I�ve become much less judgmental (thank you baby Jesus) hence, I�m more tolerant and compassionate. At the same time, I�ve become much more confident and assertive. Yet, I definitely own up to my own faults. I take responsibility for stuff I�ve always put on other people, I question my motives constantly and I give other people a lot of breaks.

Life�s tough � no doubt about that. No one needs my bullshit on top of everything else. And, most of all, no one needs to hear �my story�. Ever. My story is so damned old I�m surprised it�s not extinct. Please.

I must say, this is an interesting place to be.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003