10:47 p.m. | 2005-08-17

Elements Of Intrigue. They Punctuate My Life With Flair.

I often go several days without checking my personal email. It�s mostly spam anyway. However, on a rare occasion I receive a rather delicious message from StepMom. It�s always a last minute and vague invitation. Something like this.

I�m be arriving at the airport in YourTown tomorrow. Would you like to meet for dinner?

Now, StepMom (SM) lives less than two hours away from me and I see her several times a year. But, in MyTown? Not so much. It always revolves around the airport. And, she never gives me details.

That said, I absolutely love meeting her for dinner and spending some one-on-one time with her. I never hesitate to accept.


This time? I wasn�t sure where she was going. Okay, I�m never sure about that. But, she just got back from Australia and New Zealand once again so I was surprised that she was off again so soon.

I didn�t hesitate though.

Rather, I sped to the airport, whisked her off to a wonderful local restaurant and, well, learned a bunch of stuff. Like this.

(SM:) Do you know about this place?

(CI:) I�ve heard of it� is it in this state?

(SM:) No. Wait. Did I tell you that I made my second-born child the executor of our (MyDad�s and Stepmom�s) estate?

(CI:) Uh, no.

(SM:) Then I probably didn�t tell you that I named you as the second executor.

(CI:) Um, no. You didn�t.

(SM:) Well, you are. You guys will probably want to work together or whatever. But, I need to tell you about something. See, there�s this (asset) that no one knows about so I need to explain it to you because it goes to you and your siblings. I�m not sure that my child will remember about that.

(CI:) Okay.

(SM:) It�s complicated. Here�s what I know.

(It�s WAY complicated. And, I knew nothing � absolutely nothing about it. Come to find out, I�m gonna have to learn about it right quickly. Not because I expect SM to dies soon � or ever � but that, due to MyDad�s death, I�ll soon receive some benefits from this asset. Who knew? Certainly not me. And, I much appreciated the heads up on it.)


Anyway, we enjoyed dinner while discussing many important things. Such as MyDad�s struggle with heart disease, general family dynamics and our own personal battles. (Which, of course, are universal in nature.)

I learned a lot, I laughed a lot and I loved a lot.


Then, I drove SM back to the airport. We talked nonstop on the way there. Then this happened.

(CI:) Where are you off to this time?

(SM:) Oh, to ThisState. I�m visiting some friends. I met them in the �60s and we had kids the same age. I can�t wait to see them.

(CI:) You know, it�s like having an international spy in my family. You always send me a last minute, rather vague email inviting me to eat with you before you jet off somewhere. Could be the next state over, could be another country or it could be another continent. And, I never question it because I really treasure these impromptu rendezvous.

(SM:) You know I love you, right?

(CI:) Yes. Yes I do. And, I love you too. Have a safe trip.

How appropriate that I took her to a local restaurant that features an actual airplane gangway as an entrance.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003