10:25 p.m. | 2005-10-05

Relationships.

In examining life, I�ve come to the conclusion that relationships are the most important thing you have. Thing isn�t an adequate noun, of course, but I don�t know how else to classify relationships.

It goes without saying that you have to be alive first, so survival is important. So, given that you�re alive, what else could be more important?

Lets say you�re facing death. What do you reach for? Money? Possessions? The �picket fence�? I hope not.

But this idea, that relationships are of paramount importance, is so frequently overlooked in our current society. Ironically, devices that �enhance� communication with others (i.e., TVs, computers, cellphones, blackberries) obscure the very thing that means the most. At least to me.

I�ve been patient as these devices have crept into the fabric of our society. I�ve noticed and mourned the loss of simple exchanges amongst others while out and about. So many people no longer make eye contact because they�re looking downward while clutching a cellphone and/or reading a blackberry email and walking.

People have become insular. And, it keeps spreading. Now, I can�t speak to co-workers, friends or even strangers without competing against electronic devices for attention. Frankly, I�m done with all that. Why waste my time?

To wit, now if I�m talking to someone and they can�t give me a moment�s attention because they�re consumed with their devices, I walk away. I used to just stop talking until they realized that I had been speaking. Not so much anymore. I�m tired of competing. And, you know what? If someone�s external, electronic devices are more important that my present verbal exchange, I�m just not going to waste my time. I�ll go talk to people who value a personal exchange.

Not that these devices are bad� heck, I�m using one right now to communicate. Just that they shouldn�t prevent a person from honoring and respecting another person who happens to be physically present and trying to connect.

I�m just tired of it all. Tired of vying for a person�s attention and losing out to a video clip (that�ll be seen about four hundred thousand times in the next twenty minutes), a cellphone conversation (that consists of many different versions of �I�m bored�), a blackberry message (announcing that it�s time to buy supplies again) and/or an ipod interlude (�wait, give me a few minutes� this is my favorite song). Especially when I have business to conduct or am attempting to make a personal connection.

I�m done. I�m done with all that. I just walk away now. Fortunately and not surprisingly, my friends either do not have these devices or use them sparingly and appropriately. And, this isn't an indictment to those who choose to use them to their full advantage. A warning perhaps, but not an indictment.

Each person has to choose what is important to them. My life is about relationships with other people. Meaningful relationships. It�s not about possessions and it�s not about indulging in instant gratification to achieve communication with another. Relationships are built on solid foundations. Not on impatient emails, text messages and voicemail messages.

I�ve been tolerant for too long. However, I don�t expect that my newfound intolerance will have much or any impact on others. They�re too attached to their devices to notice that I�ll simply walk away. It�ll have a significant impact on my life though. I�ll gain hours out of my day. Hours.

I no longer feel the need to pander to society�s new excuse for not establishing true connections with people. What a liberating idea.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003