10:15 p.m. | 2005-10-19

What? It�s Not About Work? Sign Me Up. Quick.

Finally, I�ve come upon the slow season at work which means that I�ve gained back my life. You don�t even know how wonderful that is. To have my evenings and weekends back. Priceless. Don�t get me wrong, I love my job but I don�t feel the need to wallow in it.

Anyway, one of my friends is currently house hunting. Or, well, abode hunting I suppose. He�s looking for a new place to live; most likely, an apartment. I love checking out various living spaces whether it be houses, apartments, rooms, condos or, um� forts. I love all forms of structures. The word �structure� seems so box-like but that�s what people do whether they live in a mansion or along a river bank. There�s always some sort of structure involved. At some point, even if you have to draw lines in the sand, people carve out their space. I find that interesting.

My friend wants to move Downtown. Since he�s from somewhere else, he�s not very familiar with this area. Much to my delight, he�s asked me to help him check out the places he finds. I love it. And, in the last couple of days, I�ve seen some pretty interesting spaces.

This may sound boring to you but it�s quite exciting to me. Because it doesn�t involve work.


Nor does my dental appointment tomorrow morning. Yes, I have been to the dentist already this week, but I need to go back. Am I excited?

Yes, yes I am. Because it doesn�t involve work.


However, the very most exciting thing I�m doing tomorrow is packing for JournalCon. Yes, I have to go to the dentist and then to work but after that? I can commence with the packing and preparations. For JournalCon.

If you�ve not been, you don�t know the magic that is JournalCon. If you�ve been, you know what I�m talking about. It�s the perfect antidote for working too much. But more importantly, JournalCon doesn�t involve work.

It�s just frosting on an ironic cake that I happen to write for a living.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003