12:33 a.m. | 2005-10-27

JournalCon 2005. Wow. Whoa.

I�ve been to one JournalCon before � Austin � which was JournalCon WhooHoo! I wasn�t able to attend JournalCon DC (still breaks my heart) which apparently was JournalCon Squee! JournalCon San Diego was, at least to me, WowWhoa! Only more like Wow!Whoa.

This JCon was different in a way I can�t really explain. I�ve written and deleted many different versions of my experience and I�ve decided that the only way I can explain this properly is to use the same organization as Petrouchka.

So here goes.

Trance. Trance and I roomed together at JournalCon Austin. She was/is a fabulous roommate and I didn�t hesitate for a second to room with her again. She thinks she sucks as a panelist but she doesn�t. One of the most humble people I�ve ever known. She�s gifted with the jewelry making and can rock a pair of hooker boots like you wouldn�t believe. Ditto with the karaoke, but I already knew about that. We got to spend a lot of time together this year which made it all the harder to say goodbye. Most Favorite Moment: When we were souvenir shopping and she said: �Hey CI, that statue right there? That�s the statue Chauffi should�ve humped. It�s perfect.� Oh, and it was. Love ya, Jen.

Mare. I�ve never roomed with Mare before but she is an awesome roommate. Unless you�re intimidated by sharing space with a fashion diva. Luckily, I�m not because that girl? Wow. She brought six, six pairs of shoes to JCon and every single pair was fabulous. She had handbags, accessories and outfits to match all those shoes too. But the most beautiful thing that Mare brought was/is her soul. That girl needs some powerful clothes to keep up with her vivacious spirit. She�s recently suffered a devastating loss and so I was very, very happy to see her smile. Most Favorite Moment: When Trance and Mare were taking naps and I was reading the hotel catalog. There was a wedding at the hotel that featured live Latin music which carried straight through our open windows. Much to my delight, Mare leapt up from her nap and performed some Spanish dancing right there in the hotel room. It was beautiful. Thanks, Mare� my soul needed some of that. (By the way Mare, I wear your swag everyday.)

Jessie. I met Jessie at JC Austin and it was love at first sight. At least for me. Jessie is spunky and joyous and her smile is to die for. And, she�s one of those people that even if you don�t see each other for a couple of years, it�s like it was just yesterday that you said �see ya later�. She can rock some karaoke like you wouldn�t believe. Her and Jen doing rap? Incredible. That �lottery song�? Hilarious. When you see Jess and Jen singing together, you�d think they�d been doing just that for years and years. Most Favorite Moment: I�d have to say, when Jess and Jen sang the lottery song. Their timing was impeccable and� I don�t know how to explain it. Stupendous.

Thumper. Thumper, for those not in the know, is Jessie�s steady. He�s a very brave person. He doesn�t read online journals nor is he part of the online world. Just an every day type person who decided to attend this weird event � made up of online internet strangers � with his girlfriend. Needless to say, he didn�t expect that all of us would call him Thumper. I think he thought that was an �inside� nickname. He�s adorable and no more so than when he�s looking at Jess. Most Favorite Moment: Thumper: What does Jess write about me? CI: Oh, just good stuff. You know, like your sex life and such. Thumper: What? So you know how I got my nickname? CI: Of course. (I don�t Thumper, I was just bluffing. I have an idea now though.)

Jessie�s Sisters And Nick. The Biensoul family is like one big fantastically cute love fest. Really. And, they all can sing like you wouldn�t believe. I�m so glad I got to meet the sisters. It made me miss mine actually. Most Favorite Moment When the whole family � Jess, Thumper, Chris, Nicki and Nick � got up and sang karaoke. Amazing.

Weetabix. I met Weet at JC Austin and I was thrilled that she welcomed me at JC San Diego. She put a lot of work into this JCon and she did an excellent job. Great swag too. No matter what is going on, Weet always makes you feel at home while looking stunning. Not an easy thing to do, I might add. She was one of the great karaoke performers too. Most Favorite Moment Hanging out in the Lobby on Sunday. She�s just one of those people you want to kick back and shoot the breeze with.

Chauffi. I met Chauffi at JC Austin but didn�t get a chance to spend much time with him. Mostly, I took pictures of him humping statues. This time, I ate cheese with him, threatened his life and toasted to him. He makes me laugh a lot and he dresses really smart. He�s cute and I just want to hang out with him. Most Favorite Moment Watching him rock the karaoke.

Minarae. I met Minarae at this JCon. I am in total awe of her conference arranging skills. Really. Planning JournalCon and a wedding at the same time? Pure insanity. Yet, she not insane. Matter of fact, she�s very pretty and smart and personable. Obviously talented. Quite humble. Frankly, I don�t know how she manages all that. But, I�m so glad I got to meet her. Most Favorite Moment When we met and she called me a �pocket blogger�.

Petrouchka. I met Petrouchka at this JCon. He�s cute. He�s funny. He�s smart. Not necessarily in that order. But it�s all there. Most Favorite Moment When he spoke about religion in a very personal way. It was very thoughtful, honest and deep. The kind of thing that makes you sit up and listen.


I wanted to do a JournalCon recap in one gigantic entry but I can�t. Consider this part one. There�s just too much I want to say in too few hours. Mostly because this year, the Con was all heart. I have too many words to try to cram it into one entry.

So, more to come�

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003