10:24 p.m. | 2005-11-21

Remarkable Moments.

I called MyMother today to wish her a happy birthday. That might not seem remarkable to you but, trust me, it is. I haven�t called MyMother for many years. I�ve talked to her and seen her of course, I just haven�t called her. In fact, I�ve avoided her calls for so long she hasn�t called me in years.

Pretty much, I�ve only seen her at family events where it wasn�t possible to avoid her. Needless to say, we�ve never really had a comfortable relationship. Well, that�s kind of an understatement but I�m sure you get the idea.

However, I�ve been working to change some things in my life and my relationship with MyMother is one of those things. It�s an important thing too. I must admit, it�s not without its vexing moments.

But today, it worked out well. It�s her birthday today and I just felt like calling her to wish her well. She was surprised, but happy to hear from me. She even invited me to come visit her next month, and get this� I accepted her invitation. I�m not even dreading the visit like I normally would.

This work I�ve been doing � it�s really starting to pay off. It feels good. It�s remarkable to me that I�ve come to a place in my life where I feel confident that I can establish a working relationship with MyMother. Even more remarkable that I�m even remotely interested in doing such a thing. Like I said, we�ve never been close. Or happy being in the same room together for that matter.

So, that�s good. And, I feel good about it. I hope she had a very wonderful birthday.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003