10:43 p.m. | 2005-11-20

Weekend Roundup.

Did I tell you guys that I changed my Saturday brunch place? No? Well, I did. (For those not in the know, I go to brunch every Saturday and read the paper while I dine. MyDad and I use to go out to eat a lot when I was in high school and we�d read the paper and discuss the news. We always went to the same place. After he died, I started going out to Saturday brunch to memorialize his death. It helped with my grieving too.)

Anyway, the place I used to go to was fine and I loved being waited upon by BostonBoston, but after I started watching my cholesterol, I realized that it was quite a challenge to eat heart healthy at the diner. (Not surprisingly, those types of places were MyDad�s favorites. Mine too, for that matter.) The last time I went there was for brunch before I went shopping at the natural food store (NFS) for the first time. Once at NSF, I realized they had a caf� there.

So, I switched my brunch place to NFS. It�s quite convenient since I can eat and shop at the same locale. It�s an ironic place to �brunch with MyDad�, but since he has no choice in the matter, the change was quite simple to make. If he was alive, I�m not sure I�d ever be able to convince him to eat at NFS, but maybe I don�t give him enough credit. Second thought� no, I can�t really picture that.

The food�s really good though. Plus, it makes it a no-brainer to eat heart-healthy. I have lots of choices, they change the menu regularly and everything is quite tasty. It�s been fun trying all kinds of new things.

Ditto with the shopping. In fact, I LOVE the produce section. Everything is fresh because it�s in season and local. They have all these different varieties of fruits and vegetables that I haven�t had before. Hell, the whole store has all kinds of foods I haven�t had before.

Better yet, the customer service is outstanding. There are always NFS people around to answer questions and offer suggestions. Everyone is friendly and courteous. It�s a community store which I like. Reminds me of the small towns I grew up in. Even the customers are friendly and helpful.

I�ve been trying new foods left and right. New recipes too. I�ve been shopping and cooking for a couple of decades now and I have to say that it�s been nice to mix it up. I have a new enthusiasm for it. In fact, I think my new eating habits have been so easy to adopt because I don�t feel like I�m being deprived of the foods I used to eat. Rather, I have all these new foods to discover.

And, I actually feel closer to MyDad eating brunch there. Which is good. However, I feel much farther away from BostonBoston. Which is unfortunate. But heck, NSF has some awfully cute grocery guys.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003