11:08 p.m. | 2005-12-28

The Road Less Traveled.

I�m left-handed. I noticed early on that the world is not designed for the likes of me. It�s designed for right-handed people. If you�re right-handed, you�ve probably never noticed these presumptions.

Notebooks, can openers, manual transmissions, scissors, hand tools, doors, clothing, keyboards, field hockey sticks, guns, irons, cash register stands, elevator controls, watches, business equipment, ATMs, toilets, microwaves, archery bows and musical instruments are just some of the things that are designed for right-handed people.

I�m a short person. I noticed early on that the world is not designed for the likes of me. It�s designed for average-size people. If you�re of average height, you�ve probably never noticed these presumptions.

Cupboards, peepholes, stairs, cars, furniture, skis, brooms, hospital accoutrements, store shelving, dental chairs, amusement park rides, appliances, railings, restaurant booths, art galleries, guns and musical instruments are just some of the things that are designed for average-height people.

I�m an unmarried person. I�ve noticed that the world is not designed for the likes of me. It�s designed for married people. If you�re married, you�ve probably never noticed these presumptions.

Houses, bank accounts, packaged deals, school bonds, vacation deals, jewelry, cars, gift-registries, guns, car-pool lanes, taxes, insurance, social acceptance and sleep-number beds are just some of the things that are designed for married people.

I�m a childless person. I�ve noticed that the world is not designed for the likes of me. It�s designed for people who have children. If you have children, you�ve probably never noticed these presumptions.

Packaged deals, tax breaks, gift registries, cars, car-pool lanes, meal deals and social acceptance are just some of the things that are designed for people with children.

If you are right-handed, average height, married and have children � or any permutation of that- maybe you haven�t been subject to those presumptions.

Or, well, maybe you have.

I have to say though, as a left-handed, short, unmarried person with no children, the world is not really designed for me. I�ve been learning that in stages, I suppose. Over the years. It�s okay, I guess, just not so welcoming when I think about it.

Let�s just say that as a single woman with no kids? It�s easy for me to be forgotten, dismissed or overlooked in today�s world. On the other hand, it�s okay to me that I�m a short, left-handed, unmarried woman with no children. To me anyway. I haven�t been stoned to death as of yet, so I suppose that�s an affirmative response by, um, the world? (Perhaps I�m reaching there.)

It can be frustrating though. Living in a world that is decidedly not designed for me. Then again, I suppose everyone has that feeling to some extent as we�re all individuals and (presumably) hope to be recognized as such.

I just know that I felt a little disappointed when I recently discovered that a statue (of a female) includes a wedding ring. Until I noticed her hand clasped by a child�s. If you assume the child is hers, I suppose you�d want to see a ring. But suppose that child is a niece or a nephew� of a single aunt, let�s say. Why can�t the statuary be of an unmarried aunt and a niece or a nephew?

Because the world doesn�t revolve around single aunts. That much I know. And, generally speaking, it shouldn�t.

But, too bad it doesn�t. We all want to count, you know?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003