9:49 p.m. | 2006-01-01

The Blank Slate Of 2006.

This has been an odd New Year for me. What, with New Year�s Eve on Saturday, New Year�s Day on Sunday and, well� the second day of the new year tomorrow. It seems protracted to me but not a bad thing at all. It�s like I�ve been granted extra time to say goodbye to the old year and hello to the new one.

Hello indeed. I plan on making lots of changes this year. That�s not an idle thought either.

As I�ve aged � and have discovered multiple genetic health issues � I�ve come to the conclusion that my life needs to only contain the most important things.

At the top of the list? People.

Certainly, food, clothing and shelter are important. Heck, they�ve been the focus of my attention for a very long time. Being on my own at such a young age (17), those three elements have been very important. However, I think they�ve garnered too much attention in my life. I need to start living.

That�s hard of course. When everyday needs are so basic, it�s pretty much impossible to focus on much else. Yet, I have. Throughout my life, I�ve worked to build relationships, obtain work skills and enhance my education. However, I was so focused on those things for so many years that I forgot how to just be. To relax. Just enjoy another�s company.

The year of 2006? This year is gonna be pivotal to me. I�m ready. I�m ready to stand firmly in my life. To make remarkable changes, to not only own my life but to share my thoughts. My own thoughts. To dig deep. To decide. Decide what I want, what I think and what I feel.

That�s huge to me. How many people really do that? Really dig deep and live according to their very own schematic? Compromising is how we all get along, of course, so that�s expected, but how many people really know what they want? I mean, really know.

This year? I�m gonna design my own schematic. It�ll involve other people for sure. But mostly? Yeah, it�ll be of my own design. I only have one life to live, you know?

Lets just hope I live it soon because I�m not getting any younger.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003