10:13 p.m. | 2006-01-07

What Feeds Us?

About six months ago, I found out that my cholesterol level was high. Quite high. Examining the medical history of many of my family members, predominately the deceased ones, I quickly decided to change my diet.

My first reaction? Oh, no way I�d stop eating meat. None. Uh uh. No. No. No. Okay, I�d reduce my consumption of red meat; chicken and turkey could fill that void. And, I tried that. But, I also mixed in some other things. Things like black beans. Oddly, I discovered I really like black beans.

I also discovered that TheDiner that I went to for Saturday brunch offered few low cholesterol choices. That prompted me to check out the local natural food store (NFS) which not only carries groceries but has a caf�.

Long story short, NFS is where I now eat brunch and buy groceries. Within the last six months, my diet has come to include a lot more vegetarian meals. I still eat meat, of course, but not so much. More white meat than red meat.

This dietary change, one made because of my genetically high cholesterol level, opened my eyes about a several things.

One, meat has a chewy texture that isn�t duplicated by any other food. Sure, veggies, bread, fruit, beans and even tofu require chewing, but it�s NOT the same thing. Carnivorous eating seems to resonate within my soul. However, I�m aging. I figure that getting used to �softer� foods is probably a good thing. A steak is a steak though and I do have one from time to time.

Two, local foods � especially produce � are way more flavorful than foods shipped from other countries. It�s a change though. When you buy oranges from Brazil, it takes a while for them to ripen and then the window is really small. Some things like semi-locally grown tomatoes are even worse as they�re chemically �ripened� (turned red) and only go from immature to rotten no matter what you do. Well, and they�re tasteless. However, local foods are ripe when you buy them. That�s great, but you do have to consume them quickly and plan accordingly.

Three, as much as I love to eat, I never imagined how emotional it is. I�ve discovered that I�m emotionally connected to things like taste and texture. For example, meat is bland to me now. Not nearly as flavorful as beans or veggies or fruit. It�s just bland. But, boy oh boy, do I miss the texture of meat. It�s primal, I�m sure, but I miss ripping meat off the bone with my teeth. (Did I mention that I was a lion in my past life? Excuse me, lioness. Actually, maybe I was a hyena. Got a great sense of humor, you know?)

Four, when you start shopping at the local natural foods store, you make a statement you might not want to make. Especially when you�re buying things like beans, wheat berries and granola. Right after you enjoyed a meal of Kung Pao tofu and beet and spinach salad.

You might make a statement that others would interpret as political while you�re just trying to lower your cholesterol. That would be the one thing that I don�t like about my dietary change. I�m not trying to make any sort of political statement. I�m merely trying to lower my cholesterol.

Ironically, of course, while I seem to be making one political statement, I also seem to be making another. Mostly because I tend to wear leather shoes and a suede jacket to the natural foods store. I don�t plan it that way, to be sure, but I do tend to notice it. I notice it right about the same time I garner odd looks.

Today was different though. Remember that guy I mentioned a while back. The produce guy who�s cute? He definitely looked my way today. Quite clearly. Seemed happy to see me, or well, that�s how I interpreted his immediate smile.

I went about my business but ended up removing fruit from the same bin he was putting it in. Pretty much. Heh. He was stocking tangerines � I love tangerines. (Seriously, ask my mother. My grandparents used to ship tangerines to me when I was young.) Anyway, he offered me a tangerine sample and engaged in conversation. I indulged in both.

However, he was soon called upon to answer another customer�s question. He turned back to me and gave me the �hey, wait a minute extended index finger signal�. Cool. I waited, he came back and we concluded our conversation.

Then, because I�m not delusional, I proceeded with my shopping. He is really cute though.

What�d we talk about? Uh, how annoying and potentially dangerous faux-homeless people can be. The customer who interrupted us? Yeah, she invited a �homeless� person to her home. One who has a house, a super expensive motorcycle and a seemingly violent nature.

One thing we have in common? An unfortunate familiarity with the local homeless, and not so homeless, folks. That�s an odd commonality, but handy I�m sure.

Oh, but wait a minute. What I really wanted to talk about is how much I love the change in my diet, how much I�ve varied my cooking repartee and how much I now love grocery shopping.

I don�t love grocery shopping because of the produce guy, albeit that helps, but because I�ve discovered a whole new world of food. And, I do love food.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003