6:55 p.m. | 2006-01-16

Drama And The Dentist.

Yesterday, I attended the theatre with MyMother and a FamilyFriend. Regretfully, I haven�t been to a play in a really long time. Needles to say, I was looking forward to the outing. Sadly, I have to admit, I was more excited about seeing the production than seeing MyMother. I�m working on it though.

The play was a one-man show about a man, the home he grew up in and his late father. Specifically, the relationship he had with his father as a child and how it changed and evolved over the years into his adulthood. Very poignant.

The theatre itself is a small, local playhouse that�s quite cozy. It�s always cool to be close to the action but it really made an impact for this production. The actor, a comedian, stood on stage and basically shared his most heartfelt feelings about his tumultuous relationship with his father and the insight he gained following his father�s death. It really felt like we were all sitting in his livingroom sharing his experience.

He, the actor, talked a lot about how his feelings towards his father evolved after his father�s death. That struck me. Since my father died, I�ve talked to others who�ve lost a parent but our conversations have never really gone beyond coping with the loss. I�ve never shared how my feelings have changed since my father�s death. About how so much was forgiven the moment I received the phone call. How I suddenly knew, without a doubt, that my father loved me very much. How significant silly little moments between us really were.

There was so much that I related to which made me realize what a human experience it is to lose a parent. It�s not such an insular event.

Great play.


On another note, I went to the dentist again today. Finally, my last appointment after four months of incessant visits. A couple of fillings and I was on my way. Don�t have to go back until my next regular cleaning. Yippie Ki Ay! My pocketbook could use the rest too. Lordy, that stuff�s expensive.

Well, I�m off to iron�

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003