7:43 p.m. | 2006-01-17

Misdirected Pass.

I received my new residential parking pass in the mail recently. See, I�m allowed to park on the street for free as long as I have a permit attached to my rear bumper. Or rather, the rear bumper of my car. My current pass expires at the end of this month; my new pass is good for the next two years.

Yesterday, when I left out for the dentist, I decided to go ahead and affix my new permit to my car. I was quite pleased with myself, being on top of everything and all. Anyway, I very carefully placed the permit and spent several moments carefully smoothing out any air bubbles and making sure it was securely attached.

Then, I was all set to head for the dentist�s office. Right before I grabbed the door handle of the car, I realized that wasn�t my auto. No. My car was parked two spaces away. The car I affixed the pass to just happened to be the exact same year, make, model and color as mine. Uh oh. I tried, frantically, to peel the permit back off the bumper. To no avail. It was securely attached.

By that point, it was time for me to head to the dentist�s office so I did. Once I got back home, I decided to place a note on the randomly permitted car explaining what happened. (Imagine walking out to your car to discover someone had stuck a parking permit to your bumper for no apparent reason.)

Today I called MyCity. Here�s that.

(MyCity:) Good Morning, MyCity. Parking Division.

(CI:) Good Morning. My name is Cruel Irony and I�m a residential permit parker. I recently received my new pass and, uh, I accidentally stuck it to the bumper of someone else�s car.

(MC:) No problem. You can get a new permit for a $5.00 fee. You�ll have to come to the office to pick it up though.

(CI:) Okay, thanks. However, I�m concerned about the person whose car I stuck my permit to� are they going to get into any kind of trouble?

(MC:) Oh, it�s likely they will. But, I can get you a new pass.

(CI:) I�ll come get a new pass later. Can you tell me how I can prevent the other person from getting in trouble? I mean, after all, they didn�t do anything; I just randomly stuck a sticker on their bumper. That�s not their fault.

(MC:) I can put you through to enforcement.

(CI:) Great. Thanks.

I went down and picked up my new permit and canceled my old one so the other person won�t get in trouble.

This time I�ll be a little bit more careful.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003