7:26 p.m. | 2006-01-19

Mixing Things Up.

One of my resolutions for the New Year is to do something different (or differently) every day. I�m finding that this is an easy resolution for me to keep. Why do different things? Because I�m hopelessly habitual and routine. In other words, predictable and boring.

Today, I had a vegetarian sandwich for the very first time. I�ve been trying to consume more vegetarian meals in an attempt to lower my incredibly high cholesterol level. I cook vegetarian dishes for my breakfasts � breakfast being my main meal. But because I eat out for lunch, it�s been harder to find tasty meatless dishes.

I�ve always avoided vegetarian sandwiches mostly because I�ve never understood them. I�m not a big fan of bread, and while I like vegetables on my sandwich, the main attraction for me has always been the meat. Hence, a sandwich of bread and veggie has never sounded appealing. But hey, I�m trying new things so I gave it a shot today. I wasn�t disappointed.

Speaking of different, I made a tofu dish for my breakfasts this week. Tofu seasoned with garlic, cumin, coriander, turmeric and cayenne, cooked with chickpeas, onions and tomatoes served over brown and wild rice. It�s quite tasty actually except I think I�ll add spinach or fresh basil next time. The recipe seemed to be missing some greens.

In this attempt to lower my cholesterol, I�ve changed the way I shop, the place I shop, the way I cook, the things I cook and the foods I eat. It�s been a lot of fun actually. I�ve gained a new enthusiasm for both grocery shopping and cooking. Thank goodness because I was really burned out.


Speaking of doing things differently, I heard from the owner of the car that I recently, and accidentally, affixed my new parking permit to. He was really cool about it. In fact, he told me that his girlfriend once spent an hour banging on his door convinced that he was home (he was 300 miles away) because she mistook my car for his. To be clear, my car wasn�t parked at his house... we both park on the streets in the general area of our respective homes.

It�s good to know that I�m not the only one mixing things up.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003