10:16 p.m. | 2006-01-28

Double Edged Sword.

For as long as I could remember, I wanted to be 40 years old. At twelve, even, I wanted to warp-speed to a respectable age.

See, I�m blessed - or cursed - with youthful looks. It seems all cool and whatnot but not so much. I actually had a difficult time dating during my teenage + years because I looked like I was 12. (Jailbait to those not in the know.)

According to recent guesses, I look like I�m in my early twenties or, maybe early thirties. I�m not. I�m 41.

What irritates me to no end is that I�m often treated like I�m in my early twenties or early thirties. To me? It�s like erasing all my life experiences. Hate it.

However, since I am, actually, in my 40s, there are signs. I�m not so happy about that either. Ironically. I can see age spots developing on my hands. They�re right below the surface. Ouch. The random gray hairs? Not so good.

The wisdom that I�ve gained? Absolutely great. I wish more folks could see the value in that.

Since I do appear young, I�m often privy to very frank conversations about �old� people � those in their 30's or 40's. But I have to say, those remarks are made by youngsters. And, they don�t even know. They don�t know how much confidence, experience and knowledge a person gains during all those years. More importantly, they don�t realize that they�ll age just the same.

Meanwhile, while I might be alone in my admiration, I�ll keep enjoying my 40s.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003