1:28 p.m. | 2002-05-05

Happy Cinco de Mayo! I wish I felt like celebrating.

I should be on a date today but I'm not. So, since I'm not, I should go grocery shopping. But, I'm not gonna. Because I hate grocery shopping. And, don't worry your pretty little heads... no one's going to go hungry. Well, except me. But, if necessary, I do believe I have a can of sliced water chestnuts in the cupboard. I'm doing laundry instead. I dislike doing laundry just enough to feel less guilty about not shopping. I may go hungry but damn it, I'll starve in clean clothes.

What's that? Why am I not on a date? Well, for a very good reason, actually. My soon-to-be boyfriend has had a death in the family. Actually, he's had two - in the same month and he's taking care of all the arrangements, etc. Since, we haven't had our official first date yet, it would be rather tacky of me to meet his family members at a funeral. At least, I think it would be. And, actually, it's rather selfish and tasteless for me to whine about it too.

So here I am - lonely and morose. In that in-between place. Happy to be out of my last relationship (phew!) and joyously looking forward to my new one. With a respectable amount of time between the two, of course.

And, it's a beautiful Spring day today and I should be reveling in it. Instead, I'm having a quiet little pity party. I'm going to have to have a talk with myself about my attitude. Man, I hate that.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003