11:05 p.m. | 2002-07-14

Lazy Sundays.

I pulled out all the stops today and went and bought some beer. Just wanted to do a lazy Sunday thing, with the addition of beer. I whipped up in front of a store and carried some beer to the counter. But, I had to lift all that since I�m short and the counter was very tall. I�m about five feet tall; the counter was a good six feet or so. But, with all the determination of a person trying to have a lazy Sunday with a little bit of a buzz, I managed to plop it down on the counter. (Okay, the counter wasn�t that tall but I did have to swing my arm up.)

The first thing the cashier asked me was: �Do you HAVE an ID?� I do. And, I�m almost 38 so I�m kinda smug and hoping he�ll do the math and realize that I�m way past 21. Barely remember 21 actually. So I whip out my driver�s license proudly and slap it on the counter. He picks it up, looks at it, looks at me, looks at it, looks at me. Finally, he asks: �Is this you?� My answer: �Yes it is. That picture was taken about 10 years ago.� He shrugs; I shrug. I pay and leave with my beer. He�s happy he did his part, ya know checking and all. I�m happy that he thinks I�m trying to pass off a fake ID.

I was gleeful because he mistook me as a youngster. However, I�m also thinking he had reason to question that photo. No, I don�t look the same way I did in 1993. Thank goodness. But, I don�t commit traffic offenses or whatever so they just keep renewing my license with that same sorry-assed picture. And, it�s weird to think that, over the past 21 years, DMV only has 2 pictures of me. One when I was 18 and first got my license and one when I was around 30 and they demanded another picture.

Let me just say that my 18-year-old picture is just way cuter than my 30-year-old picture. Not because I�m younger and all, but because I was more into it then. I was more like �yeah, take my picture�. Now I�m more like, �Oh my god, this picture is going to be the worst picture of me ever.�

But, it�s still cool to be carded. And, I did manage to get a little buzz, while I was gardening. It was cool, brief and dreamy. I actually got more of a buzz from him asking me for ID than anything else. (I�m getting old, I tell ya.) Wanna a beer? I have leftovers.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003