7:54 p.m. | 2002-07-21

Yes, Earwigs Can Bring Forth Inspiration.

I owe Trancejen for inspiring this entry. In one of her recent entries, she said this:

�I reached down to pull some clothes out of the basket, and forty-five thousand earwigs scattered like dope-smoking teenagers upon the arrival of parents at a party.�

And, that my friends, is a fantastic line! Work it into any conversation you can. I�m working it myself, right now. It reminded me of something I witnessed that was similar in nature but with teenagers rather than earwigs.

It happened on a Friday night. This was back when I lived with one of my ex-boyfriends and we had gone out to dinner and drinks and came home around 10ish or 11ish. As we drove to our home, we noticed an over-abundance of vehicles parked near our home. Since we lived on a road that ended with a cul-de-sac, it was surprising to see all these cars. Someone was having a party. Well, not quite a party � they were having a PARTAY! That�s when my boyfriend casually mentioned that the 3 teenage girls that lived across the street had come by everyone�s house to let them know they were having a party that night. (Their parents were out of town that weekend.) We decided that we better keep an eye out to make sure the girls were okay.

So we were keeping an eye out but doing our own thing and all. Then we heard cop radios and such, out front. We went out front to take a look, then we went and got some lawn chairs! And, the years peeled off of us in seconds as we watched the cops bust out the party. Drunken teenagers were all over the place, and they were trying to act �straight� but they were shitfaced. We watched as they tried frantically to hide beer bottles and such in the landscape and to walk straight. And, of course, we could hear all their comments clearly as they were doing the drunken whisper-shout thing.

The real amazing trick happened when the cops actually gained entry into the house. All of a sudden, thousands of teenagers scattered everywhere. They came flooding out of the house, backyard, and off the roof. We were totally stunned. The house was not that big. The property was not that big. Where in the hell did all these teenagers come from? It was an amazing and hilarious thing to witness. The flood of teenagers was so great, it turned into a tidal wave. My ex and I sat in awe and laughter.

Finally, everyone was cleared out and the cops left. Then my ex and I looked at each other and both blurted out � �they�ll all be back in 10 minutes�. Sure enough, they all came back. Then the cops came again and the PARTAY was over.

The cops came by our place and asked us if we knew their parents. We told them that we did. They asked us to inform the parents that the girls had had a party while they were gone. We said we would. We closed the door. I asked my ex if he was gonna tell their parents and he said hell no, they were just having fun. He asked if I was gonna tell, and I said hell no, they were just having fun.

However, my ex did go over and check on the girls. The �host� of the party said that she was just planning on having a few people over but word spread and great masses of people just showed up. She told him she was actually glad the cops busted up the party because it had gotten out of control.

Did we tell their parents? Hell no.

However, my ex and I still talk about that event with awe remembering the throngs of teenagers scattering and trying to figure out how that many people managed to gather in such a small space.

It looked just like Trancejen said:

�I reached down to pull some clothes out of the basket, and forty-five thousand earwigs scattered like dope-smoking teenagers upon the arrival of parents at a party.�

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003