8:42 p.m. | 2002-08-05

I Was Once Offered $100 To Do Someone�s Homework.

And what was my response?

�How are you going to learn this stuff if you don�t do it yourself? Ya know, winners never cheat and cheaters never win.�

Okay, so I was young and stupid at the time. And, obviously blind since I didn�t even give that $100 bill a second glance. (He pulled it out of a cache of $100 bills that were resting comfortably in his wallet.) I was working fulltime, going to school at night and scraping the bottom of the barrel to make ends meet. But, apparently, I take education very seriously. And, it would have taken me all of 10 minutes to complete his assignment. One that he had been working on for days.

I was working towards my degree in computer science at the time and had to spend 9 hours a week in the computer lab assisting other students. The really twisted thing about it was that I had to pay for 3 units to work for free three nights a week. This was after working 8 or 9 hours a day as a programmer. Plus my other classes. Let me just say that it wasn�t the most enjoyable �class� I completed.

The guy that attempted to bribe me was a Mel Gibson-looking kinda guy who was very buff (thanks to steroids), and I avoided him at all costs because he always wanted me to spend all night doing his homework and bullshitting. The lab was full of people that needed help, just a little, to get them on the right path. In other words, I ditched this guy like he had the plague.

Someone else pointed out to me that he started wearing �muscle shirts� to get my attention. I didn�t notice. Not that I don�t like a fine-looking man, but I was tired after a long day at work and just wanting to do my job and go home. I didn�t have time to babysit some guy who couldn�t grasp the easiest of computer concepts.

He eventually wrote a song about me, showed up at my place with a very expensive bottle of champagne and offered me a ride in his Porsche. Alas, these attempts to sway me didn�t work. Which would be good thing since, eventually, his father was murdered and his brother and cousin were convicted in a federal court for �white collar� crimes.

But, I have to say he was one of the most interesting guys I�ve ever met. He was also quite handsome and the very first guy to write a song about me. (First and last at this point.) And, I think he was drawn to me because I was the only heterosexual female that he had ever encountered that wasn�t falling all over themselves to be with him. Well, and he wanted me to do his homework for him.

As you can see, I�m not all that impressed with muscles, money and sports cars. That�s all nice and stuff but there�s more to life than what money can buy.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003