8:26 p.m. | 2002-09-06

Lord, What Was I Thinking?

I reclined last night, in my trusty recliner, and commenced to rest. Per chance, I glanced down at my toes. On one of my toes, I had a straight, horizontal line across my toe right below my toenail. So, of course, I thought: �Hmmm, I have a stray pen mark on my toe.� I tried to wipe it off; it didn�t come off or even smudge. A closer inspection revealed a blood blister. Oh yeah, I stubbed my toe over the weekend in the flurry of Fall Cleaning. I remember that it hurt like holy hell and I swore like Uncle Bob. It was sore for a while but didn�t appear to be broken so I continued cleaning and forgot all about the stubbing incident.

Here�s the disturbing thing � why would I think that I have a random pen mark on my toe? Since I�m short my toes aren�t all that far away from my hands, but please, when I write, my hands are nowhere near my feet.

It�s easier to understand why I might have a random pen mark somewhere on my body but it�s usually either on one or both of my hands, or on my face. I often write on my hands because I have a short memory. When my boss tells me to remember something at lunch, I have to write it on my hand or I�ll forget it when we get back to work. Especially, with all the laughter and stuff. And, I get random pen marks on my face because my face is much closer to my hands when I write. Plus, I�m often holding a pen when answering my phone or doing other random activities. Well, and the muscle spasms contribute too.

But my toes? That�s just some thinking gone askew there.

**

On an unrelated note� thanks for thinking of me girlsdontcry. Enjoy your cake! You can eat my piece too.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003