7:54 p.m. | 2002-09-18

Mailbox Elixirs & Family Heirlooms.

First, let me just give a shout out to tuff517. She recently went to visit her sister, laila726, and graciously offered to send a postcard to anyone who requested one. Of course, I signed up for that offer.

Let me just say, ask and you shall receive. I got not one, but two postcards and some other fun trinkets. There was a party going on in my mailbox! How cool is that? So thank you Tuff � you RAWK! Of course, I plan on returning the favor, however, I have no plans to go anywhere anytime soon, so I�m going to do some local souvenir shopping. Plus, Tuff gets bonus points for distracting me from my pain, breathing problem and muscle spasms.

(If my health insurance company would listen to me when I spout off about �natural pain relievers�, they would shower me with inexpensive trinkets rather than expensive medications. However, that would cause an economic imbalance within several industries, hence I must receive my �natural pain relievers� from other sources.)

***

Quip of the day:

(Boss:) (When she located me in someone else�s office.) Why do you have antlers on your desk?

(CI:) What? I do not have antlers on my desk.

(Boss:) Okay. Why do you have horns on your desk? (She knows I�m very literal about things.)

(CI:) Look Boss, I do not have antlers or horns on my desk. (Visualizing my desk and trying to figure out what is on my desk that looks either like antlers or horns.) Granted, I have some weird stuff on my desk, but no antlers or horns.

(Colleague:) You have weird stuff on your desk? (Raising an eyebrow.)

(CI:) Well, ya know, I have a box of rocks (which always makes me think of weetabix) on my desk and some maple syrup, but I don�t have any antlers or horns or stuff like that.

(Boss:) Yes you do.

(Colleague:) You have a box of rocks and maple syrup on your desk? (Shaking her head and laughing.)

(CI:) Okay Boss, show me this �antler�.

(My boss and I go to my desk.)

(CI:) Oh look, my antler! How cool! Oh shoot, I missed GuyFriend when he came by. Damn. Oh, but he brought my antler back. (Hugging my antler.)

(Boss:) See, I told you you had antlers on your desk. (Shaking her head and wandering off.)

Yes, I am weird like that. And don�t worry, this antler was collected from the ground after a normal antler-shedding process. No animals were killed in the collection process. It�s actually a family heirloom.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003