10:52 p.m. | 2002-09-17

Maybe I Missed My Calling.

I think I could have been a Vegas Show Girl. Or rather, my legs seem to think so. I�ve been randomly kicking things due to muscle spasms. It�s amazing what your limbs can do once they�re freed from your mind.

Mostly, I�ve been randomly kicking other people�s desks while engaged in conversation. It always surprises both of us. It goes something like this.

(Colleague:) What was that?

(CI:) Oh sorry, I just kicked your desk but I didn�t mean to.

(Colleague:) Oh, okay.

However, she couldn�t see my legs; she only heard the impact. Here�s another.

(Boss:) (Look of total surprise) What just happened? Are you okay?

(CI:) Sorry, muscle spasm. I just kicked your desk. I�m fine. It was just an accident.

(Boss:) Maybe you should sit down.

(CI:) Yeah, maybe I should. And, I didn�t mean to kick your desk. I�m not mad at you or anything. Really. Just a muscle spasm.

My boss could see my legs and she saw my leg swing out quite violently and kick her desk.

And, here was part of our lunch conversation.

(Boss:) (As she�s crossing and uncrossing and crossing her legs.) Am I hitting your legs?

(CI:) Yeah, but it�s okay.

(Colleague:) You�re hitting CI�s legs? That�s not nice.

(Boss:) Well, I can�t help it. I think she has them wrapped around the table leg.

(CI:) Everything�s fine. And my legs are wrapped around the table leg. I felt that�d be safer than kicking the waiter. Just having some random kicking problems.

Maybe I can�t be a Vegas Show Girl after all. I think you have to be able to kick on command.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003