6:51 p.m. | 2002-10-23

The Sounds of Downtown.

So, I was sitting at my desk today working away (it rhymes!) and I heard an elephant trumpeting. And this is what I thought.

�Oh, there goes the elephant again.�

Then I thought about my thought. What the fuck was I thinking? I hear an elephant trumpeting at work and I just take it in stride? What the hell is wrong with me? Why in all of God�s green earth would I hear an ELEPHANT TRUMPETING at work? And, what did I mean �again�?

I hear a surprising assortment of outside noises at work, notwithstanding that I work in the downtown area of a city. Church bells, car horns, horses trotting, parades, sirens, trolley bells, people arguing, planes, dogs barking, street preachers, trains, music (live and recorded), big trucks, accidents, people yelling in megaphones, large gaggles of children, squeaky breaks, busses, birds chirping, helicopters. I find it quite enjoyable actually, as they�re not usually so loud that they�re annoying.

However, there is no reason for me to hear an elephant trumpeting. So, I sat for a moment and listened. I heard the noises of a toucan, frog, elephant and snake. These sounds were repeating, in the same order, at regular intervals. I donned my investigator hat and looked for clues.

Ah so, ah so. I tracked the noises to someone�s unmanned desk and discovered they had a jungle screen saver. I was indeed hearing the sounds of a toucan, frog, elephant and snake.

So actually, my thought was quite appropriate. I�m just glad I didn�t say it out loud.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003