6:11 p.m. | 2002-11-22

Family Ties That Don�t Bind.

After I returned from a recent family event, I remarked to my Dearest Sister that it just seemed wrong that I didn�t know where Dad and Stepmom lived. And, kind of weird. Actually, I don�t know where Mom, Other Sister, Dearest Sister, Younger Sister, StepSisters, or StepBrother live. Outside the Steps, I have addresses for them all; I�ve just never been to their homes. I have been to prior residences but not current ones. And the only family members that have been to my current home are Mom and Younger Sister. Both visits were drop bys to pick up something. I�m sure that many of you are appalled or bewildered, but this is not uncommon in my family.

Growing up, both my parents fled from their families so we were isolated from Grandparents, Aunts, Uncles and Cousins. Most of the time, we were separated by many states so visits were infrequent. Since I was 18, I have not lived in the same town as any member of my family. For the last 20 years, my Dad and Stepmom have lived in Germany. Only a couple of visits over there. Mom has always lived in far away towns, so not so many visits there. The Sisters have always been close (emotionally) so we�ve tried hard over the years to visit even when great distances separated us. Consequently, we are all family independent, if you will.

Dearest Sister told me that it�s really weird having Dad, Stepmom and StepSisters living in her town. She�s just not use to it. They�re all learning to adapt though. Frankly, if a family member lived in my town, I would probably never see them. I just wouldn�t think to. And, come to think of it, Younger Sister works in my town (she commutes here), has for many years and I�ve only seen her twice (in my town). Once last month and once this month. We�ve only recently realized that we could easily see each other on a regular basis. Not only does she work here, the building she works in is in my �hood. The fact that I drive past her workplace everyday yet never see her seems kind of wrong and weird.

As I mentioned, Dearest Sister and I were talking about this strange familial phenomenon and she told me about the time that she was pulled over while driving Other Sister�s vehicle, which she had borrowed because her car was in the shop. (Lord, I thought that sentence would never end.)

(Cop:) May I see your driver�s license, vehicle registration and insurance information, Ma�am.

(DS:) Sure. (Handing everything over.)

(Cop:) The name on the documents does not match your license. Is this your vehicle Ma�am?

(DS:) No, it�s not. It�s my sister�s. I�m borrowing it because my car is in the shop.

(Cop:) What�s her name?

(DS:) Other Sister.

(Cop:) Where does she live?

(DS:) OtherSisterTown, ThisState.

(Cop:) (Rolling his eyes.) What is her address?

(DS:) Uh� well� I don�t know. I mean, I know where she lives but I don�t know what the address is. I mean, I have her address, but it�s at home. In my address book. I, um, don�t have her address with me. (Her kids, meantime, are in the car acting as if they have no idea what she�s talking about.)

(Cop:) (Looking at her suspiciously.) What�s her phone number?

(DS:) Well� um� I don�t know. Her number�s in my address book. Which is at home.

(Cop:) You�re telling me that you know your sister well enough that she let you borrow her vehicle yet you DON�T EVEN KNOW HER ADDRESS OR HER PHONE NUMBER????!!!!

(DS:) Yes. (Said in complete seriousness.)

I was laughing so hard because I could totally relate. Then I realized that I don�t know any family member�s address off the top of my head. The only phone number I have memorized is Dearest Sister�s. Fortunately though, I carry my address book with me.

And, if I did memorize all their current addresses, they�d all promptly move. That�s just how it is in our family.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003