2:29 p.m. | 2002-11-30

Oh Please, Even I Don�t Buy That.

When I got up this morning, I realized I needed to do some cleaning. Since I�m an anti-clutter bug and live alone, cleaning usually only entails the likes of dusting, sweeping, mopping, vacuuming and the dreaded bathroom cleaning. Oh, and laundry. Yet, I�m always stubborn about getting those things done. Besides the fact that it�s just not fun, it�s repetitive. You clean it all up and it just gets dirty again. Seems pointless sometimes.

I was pondering all this when I had this thought.

�Oh wait, my dad just died. I shouldn�t have to clean because I�m grieving.�

Please. Really, how pathetic is that? That excuse sounds lame even to me. I�ve been doing nothing but grieving all week and now I want a free ticket to be lazy? Uh, I don�t think so. Besides, I�ll be grieving for a while. It�s not like the whole world is going to stop because I had a death in the family. Plus, it�s not like I can�t grieve while I clean. So, I�ve been cleaning. Not much left to do now. It helps that my ability to concentrate is back.

And, as you know, I love irony. Here�s a beauty.

Two days before my father died, I sent him an email asking him if he would be my emergency contact person. I�ll take his death as a resounding no.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003