11:33 a.m. | 2002-12-01

It�s All In the Family.

My Dad�s brother and his wife came from out-of-state for my Dad�s memorial last week. I�ve only seen Uncle B a few times in my life so I don�t know him too well. Anyway, I learned some interesting things.

First off, he has the olive gene also. It�s prevalent on that side of the family. Most of us have a mad passion for olives. Green, black, Greek, stuffed with garlic� we love them all. I noticed this passion in Uncle B when he exclaimed: �Oh, olives!� while he scoping out the table laden with all kinds of foods.

Then I discovered that he�s not a star gazer either. Many famous and/or well-known people live and/or visit Uncle B�s town. Many times, he works with them. However, like me, he�s clueless. For example, once he was working with a woman who showed up wearing �really funky shorts and a top that didn�t match� and Uncle B said: �Lord, who dresses you in the morning?� Who was it? Uh, Liz Claiborne.

Finally, I found out that Uncle B is a rockhound too. We started talking about something and pretty soon we were heavily involved in a conversation regarding different stones and such. Then I realized that everyone in the room had stopped talking and was staring at us. Dearest Sister exclaimed: �So that�s where CI and Baby Nephew get it from! We couldn�t figure out where they got all this weird rock stuff from.� Younger Sister (Baby Nephew�s mom) piped in too: �He�s been passionate about rocks since day one. My husband and I could never figure out where he got it from.� Well, I guess we all know now.

Much of my dorkiness comes from Uncle B. I bet he�s proud.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003