1:49 p.m. | 2002-12-03

Go To Work. Go Home. Whatever.

I went to work today but our building was evacuated and we were all sent home. Apparently, there had been a fire in one of the heating units on the roof and the building had filled with smoke. It was very acrid and even though I was only in the building for 10-15 minutes, my throat still burns, my eyes sting and I have a raging headache. God only knows what horribly toxic crap I was breathing. (I came home, flipped on the TV and immediately stumbled upon a show regarding the dangers of toxic chemicals to humans. Of course.)

Now my system is totally messed up. Things have been so non-routine that I don�t even know what day it is. When I woke up, I thought it was Saturday and I was happy I could sleep in then I realized that it was Tuesday and I had to go to work. So I drug my sorry ass all the way downtown only to be sent back home. You�ll be happy to know that I spared Boss and Colleague the trouble by calling them before they left home to tell them not to bother coming in.

Yikes! I think I�m whining but I�m not sure. Does this sound whiny? See� I�m confused. I�m very habitual and when you mess with my routine I just end up wandering around babbling and staring blankly into space. No matter how hard I try, I am just not a spontaneous person. I need to absorb, think about and analyze things. I�m a ruminator.

There are so many things in life I can�t control, including the varying symptoms of fibro, that I have a tendency to be territorial about the things that I can control. Whether that�s good or bad, I know not. Nor do I care.

I�m sure I�ll be back in my routine soon. Meanwhile, I�m just gonna wander around babbling and staring blankly into space.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003