7:49 p.m. | 2002-12-17

A Whole Different Kind Of Jack.

Here�s some lunchtime conversation.

(Boss:) Did you guys hear about the guy who was masturbating in the jury room?

(CI & Colleague:) No!

(Boss:) Well, he was sitting in the jury room and he started masturbating and there were two women in the room also but they just ignored him.

(CI:) In the jury room? Who does that in the jury room? (I looked pointedly at Colleague like he should know as a representative of all men everywhere or something. He just shrugged his shoulders and shook his head.)

(Boss:) Then they called everyone out and put them in the jury box. And, this guy� he continued to masturbate in the jury box.

(CI:) Who does that in the jury box?

(Colleague:) Jack In The Jury Box? (Or perhaps, it�s Jackin� The Jury Box. Sorry, couldn�t resist.)

(Boss:) Don�t worry though, they dismissed them all.

(CI:) I should hope so. Who knows what he would�ve done during a trial.

That, by the way, is how many of our conversations start: �Did you hear�� Apparently, Boss believes that I live the same life she does. Here are some questions that she asks me pretty much on a daily basis.

�Did you watch TVNewsShow this morning?�

�Did you read NonLocalNewspaper this morning?�

�Did you listen to TalkRadioShow this morning?�

For the last couple of years or so, I have, without fail, answered �no� every single time she has asked me these questions. I have stopped believing that these are actual questions and have come to believe these are just conversation segues. Nifty little linguistic transitions.

Here�s another conversation.

(CI:) Boss, I�m so stupid you really should be embarrassed that I work for you.

(Boss:) Oh Lord, what did you do now?!

(CI:) Well, I went across the street to the OtherWorkPlace and you know that I always automatically go to this particular bank of elevators. So I got in the elevator, pressed the button for the floor I wanted and then the doors opened, I stepped off, and I realized that I was in TheRestrictedArea.

(Boss:) Oh my GAWD! You went to THE RESTRICTED AREA? But the elevators don�t go there unless you have a key.

(CI:) I know, but it DID go there!

(Boss:) What did you do?

(CI:) I got back on the elevator, went back to where I started and went to the appropriate bank of elevators.

(Boss:) I�m surprised they didn�t kick you out.

(CI:) They didn�t even say anything to me. In fact, I kinda wandered around a little before I looked up and realized where I was. And they didn�t shoot me or anything.

(Boss:) You�re lucky. Don�t do that again.

(CI:) I�ll try not to.

And, don�t worry, I don�t really think I�m stupid. I just do stupid stuff sometimes. That was one of those times.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003