5:59 p.m. | 2002-12-31

Out With The Old And In With The New.

So, I�m on the brink of a new year. Already. Again. Time does go faster as you get older. For some of you, the year has already turned. For me, I still have many hours left until it�s officially the third year of this century. I�m ready.

This last year has been full of challenges I didn�t expect, not the least of which was my car accident, the fact the young mother I mentor became homeless, and multiple deaths, including that of my father. There was good stuff too. I finally got my medications straightened out and am no longer suffering from liver failure and other obnoxious side effects. I�ve gained more professional expertise and knowledge which is always a good thing. I�ve made many new friends and met incredible people, online and off. I�ve continued to learn more about myself. I�ve managed to keep my weight above 100lbs. I�ve continued with my volunteer work notwithstanding all the heartbreaks. I�ve found more peace and happiness. And, I�ve laughed my ass off � almost literally.

The thing I�m most grateful for this year was that I went to Younger Sister�s birthday party and hence had a wonderful visit with my father a week before he died. Sometimes it�s the ordinary events in life that become extraordinary.

It�s been a tough year but it�s also been a rewarding year. But, I�m ready to wrap it up and move on. However, I just can�t do that until I mention one more thing. My most favorite tree fell down recently due to some heavy winds. It was in the park near work and I walked past it on a fairly regular basis. It was a huge tree that was a couple of hundred years old and had to be supported by a huge iron brace. I loved that tree and always felt peaceful when I would walk past it. Well, I walked past it again today except only a stump remains. It seems silly, I know, but there it is.

Well, I suppose I should get busy making the most of the end of the year 2002. Of course, making the most of it is pretty much just going to involve the consumption of some mimosas (champagne and orange juice) because I love mimosas but rarely drink them because I just don�t think to. I�ll probably also watch the ball in Times Square drop too because� well, because that�s what you do in the U.S. on New Year�s Eve. I wouldn�t want to be all avant-garde now. I�ll save that for next year.

Happy New Year�s. I wish you all the best in the coming year. Cheers.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003