4:41 p.m. | 2003-01-01

Ladders, Potatoes & Borrowed Husbands.

I said I�d be avant-garde in the New Year and well, here we are, not even a full day into 2003 and I�m well on my way.

I took out the trash today since my new buddy jason75 didn�t come to my rescue and haul it to the curb for me. In all fairness though, I do have to point out that he�s in Australia and he has no idea that Wednesday is trash night. But still.

While I was outside, I noticed my neighbors Mr. Engineer and Mrs. Shrink were up on their roof cleaning off random debris. I stopped to say hi, tell them about my recent surprise visitor, and let them know who grew up in their home. We had a nice chat, bid adieu and I went back into my home.

Then, I started thinking. Scary, I know. I very quickly put together the following facts. They had their big ladder out. I have no ladder. I need a new lightbulb put in my outside light fixture. My outside light fixture is about 10�-15� feet off the ground. (It�s a very cool looking fixture though.) I have new lightbulbs. Hey, wait a minute. Mr. Engineer, tall ladder, new lightbulb� this could all come together for me.

So, I went and got a bulb, wandered back next door and asked Mr. Engineer (ME) if he could please replace it. Since he�s a really nice guy, he said sure. He brought over the ladder and climbed up. Here�s that.

(ME:) Is the switch turned off?

(CI:) Uh� I don�t know. It�s been out for so long. Let me check. (I went inside and flipped the switch down.) Okay, I flipped the switch.

(ME:) Did you flip it down?

(CI:) Yes.

(ME:) Does that mean the power�s off?

(CI:) Well, I don�t really know because a lot of my lights are wired backwards, so it may be on and it may be off.

(ME:) Do you have a potato?

(CI:) (Complete blank stare followed by a huge pregnant pause.) Uh� um� no.

(ME:) I�m sure we do; I�ll go get one. I don�t want to be electrocuted.

(CI:) Okay... I certainly don�t want you to get electrocuted. (�Do I have a potato?� What kind of question is that?)

(ME:) (Puts the potato up in the fixture which causes sparks to shoot out everywhere.) The power�s still on.

(CI:) (Flipping switch again.) Okay, it should be off now.

(ME:) (Noticing my complete ignorance and fascination with this whole process.) See, you can use a potato to get an old socket and glass out of a fixture. Plus, it�s a great insulator which is why I didn�t get shocked. (He pulls out the old socket and puts the new bulb in.) Okay, try it again.

(CI:) (I flip the switch again and nothing happens.)

(ME:) We might have tripped a circuit; check the circuit box.

(CI:) (Checking box and flipping a circuit.) Okay, I flipped one that said �lights and plugs�. (It still doesn�t work.)

(ME:) When you flipped the circuit, was it tripped?

(CI:) (Blank stare.) Uh�

(ME:) Did it go from the right side to the middle?

(CI:) (Blank stare.) Uh�

(ME:) Do you mind if I check your box?

(CI:) No, not at all. (He shows me the tripped circuit and gives me a little circuit lesson.)

(ME:) Okay, try it again.

It worked like a charm. I thanked him profusely, of course, and apologized for my blatant ignorance. I did point out that since his potato had sprouted roots, he could plant it � just thought I should share my potato knowledge in return.

So, with all this problem solving and newfound knowledge, I�d say I�m off to a good start this year.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003