7:31 p.m. | 2003-01-21

There�s No Explaining Post-Flare Grocery Shopping.

After coming off a multi-day flare where I either didn�t eat and/or spent hours vomiting, I was hungry over the weekend. I went out to lunch on Saturday because I didn�t have any food in the house. Well, that�s not quite accurate. I had a can of peas, beef broth and a strawberry Popsicle, but obviously, that wasn�t going to hold me for the week.

So, I went grocery shopping, post-flare, while I was hungry and craving everything. Amongst other things, I came home with pickles, red pummelos, hot & sour soup, feta cheese, hot Cajun-style smoked sausages, olives, avocados, pine nuts, kiwis and red onions. And, oddly enough, I�ll consume all these things.

I even made a salad I haven�t made for a good ten years. I wasn�t planning to; I just ended up with all the ingredients. It consists of avocado, orange and red onion slices mixed in a dressing of oil, vinegar and mustard. I know, I know� it sounds disgusting but it�s really good. In fact, the first time I saw the recipe, I shuddered. However, by that time, my culinary tastes had become sophisticated enough to know that, often, when a recipe sounds awful, it�s pretty damn good. I ate that salad for dinner after eating a smoked sausage with red potato salad for lunch.

I don�t think my refrigerator, or my stomach, has ever held this particular combination of foods before. I hope I don�t give either heartburn.

On another note, why does my paperboy put my newspaper in plastic to protect it from the rain and then throw it in a puddle? I mean, at that point, the plastic is just keeping the moisture in. I�m just saying.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003