6:19 p.m. | 2003-01-23

Just Call Me Grace!

I headed up the stairs last night to go to bed. On the way up, I stopped to pick up something I had set on the steps, totally lost my balance and did a ballerina-on-crack move which resulted in a splinter being shoved under my fingernail. A broken splinter. A splinter that I could not grab a hold of and remove. Shoved up my fingernail. Pain anyone?

I tried to remove it with tweezers and a needle but was unsuccessful. So I went to bed and tried to sleep knowing that my finger was already starting to fester and fearing the doctor would have to pull my nail off to get this stupid little splinter removed.

I got up this morning, grabbed my tweezers and headed to work. After I checked my messages etc., I reported to Another Colleague for a little outpatient surgery. (She used to work in the medical field so she�s our resident medical expert.) Just like a pro, she took those tweezers, shoved them down my fingernail and pulled that little splinter right out. She then instructed me to drip rubbing alcohol down into my nail to clean it out. (She�s a mother also, can ya tell?) Again, pain anyone?

Manly Man Colleague (MMC) stopped by my desk shortly after my little operation. Here�s that.

(CI:) Hey MMC, look at this splinter! It was under my fingernail!

(MMC:) EEEWWW!

(CI:) Yeah, AC pulled it out for me.

(MMC:) Did you cry?

(CI:) Uh, no.

(MMC:) Did you tear up?

(CI:) Uh, no. In fact, I didn�t even flinch.

(MMC:) Oh, I would�ve been crying or at least tearing up. And, definitely flinching. EEEWWW!

Alrighty then. I guess we know how to separate the men from the boys� just shove a splinter under their fingernail and move in with the tweezers.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003