7:33 p.m. | 2003-01-26

Super Bowl Sunday.

For the first time in my life, I watched the Super Bowl by myself. Up through high school, I watched it with my father, then for the next 20 years, I attended Super Bowl Parties. Here�s what I learned. Unobserved, I know a hell of a lot more swear words than I thought I did. In fact, I know whole phrases that would melt small children into puddles. I had no idea how profane I can be.

And, get this, I�m not even that into sports. Sure, football�s fun, especially when you�re surrounded by good-looking guys chock full of testosterone, but I�m certainly no football queen. In fact, neither the Raiders nor the Buccaneers are my team. I find it kinda funny though, that the �raiders� (soldiers � using term loosely � trained for close-range fighting) were up against the �buccaneers� (pirates).

Out of nostalgia, I was rooting for the Buccaneers because I once studied pirates while writing a term paper in macroeconomics which I aptly titled: �Piracy in the 1990�s: Product Counterfeiting�. At the time, it was common knowledge that watches, videotapes and handbags were all counterfeited, however, I also learned there are all kinds of knock-off items floating around out there. Among the most disturbing: aircraft parts, birth control pills and pacemakers. Among the least disturbing: basketballs, mannequins and perfume. And guys think us chicks pick teams based on the color of their uniforms. Not so, Buster! A lot more thought goes into it than that, like uh, macroeconomics, for example.

So, the result? Buccaneers: 48; Raiders: 21. And, the Buccaneers gained the final 7 points in the last 5 seconds of the game due to an interception. What do I think? Who the fuck cares? Well, besides millions of people. However, I think my economic analogy is quite appropriate considering the fact that the Super Bowl stimulates the economy as readily and easily as a desperate crack whore stimulates, well, just about anyone who can offer a quick fix. No offense to any crack whores reading this and/or looting my computer.

To quote John Madden, out of context mind you, ��each situation affects each [other] situation.� Outside of the number one rule of economics � there are no free lunches � that pretty much sums up both micro and macroeconomics.

Who knew football could be so educational? I, myself, just thought it was an excuse to party. But that�s just my personal take on the whole thing.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003