6:12 p.m. | 2003-02-12

I�m An Aardvark!

I had today off so I went to the train museum with Younger Sister and Baby Nephew. (As Baby Nephew is almost three, I think it�s time I updated his moniker, so he�s now officially dubbed Little Nephew.)

Guess what we saw? Thomas the Train! Can you believe it? Well, not the real Thomas the Train, just toy ones. But still, it was Thomas the Train and all. And, get this, we climbed up and down the stairs! We counted them too. We also hopped, skipped, ran and shrieked. All in the same day. What a lucky girl I am.

I was also presented with statements such as �I�m An Aardvark� and Little Nephew expected me to respond appropriately. After I deciphered what the hell he said in the first place. Things like that can trip me up since I don�t have a wee one and I�m not a regular watcher of Sesame Street, Blues Clues, etc. And, he can see right through my seemingly patronizing �Really?!� responses. Trust me, I have a whole litany of generic responses for tough-to-understand little kid conversations. If all else fails, I can always rely on the handy �There it is�.

He even ordered his own lunch, to wit:

(Waitress:) What would you like?

(LN:) I like cheeburger, pweese. Oh, and no onion pweese.

(Waitress:) Okay, a cheeseburger without onions.

(LN:) Thank you.

They drove me home and came in for a short visit. During their visit, LN spotted my new tin tumblers, immediately took two, put them over his eyes and said this:

"Look Mommy! I got glasses!"

Good lord, I thought I was gonna burst a blood vessel from laughing so hard.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003