6:46 a.m. | 2003-03-13

What Was That Song?

Boss and I had a rather typical conversation yesterday. She was asking me some trivia questions pertaining to what I call pop culture for lack of a better description. I don�t retain any information about movies, actors/actresses, current singers, etc. I know what I like and that�s good enough for me. Here�s that.

(Boss:) Did you see the movie �Somewhere in Time�?

(CI:) Uh, no. I read the book though. (Yeah, back in high school more that 20 years ago.)

(Boss:) It was a great movie. Anyway, who played opposite Christopher Reeves?

(CI:) Uh, I don�t know. I read the book.

(Boss:) Oh, I remember. It was Jane Seymour. But, what was the theme song of that movie?

(CI:) Uh, I don�t know. The book didn�t come with a soundtrack.

(Boss:) Oh please. You know what it was. Think about it. You know, it was that really beautiful song.

(CI:) Okay.

(Boss:) (Looking at me like I�m a complete idiot.) I�m gonna call Colleague; he�ll know. (Dialing Colleague on the speakerphone.)

(CI:) Oh yeah, I�m sure HE�LL know!

(Colleague:) Yes Boss?

(Boss:) Did you see the movie �Somewhere in Time�?

(Colleague:) No.

(Boss:) Oh, you should see that movie with your wife. It�s really good and romantic and you guys would like it. Anyway, what was the theme song of that movie?

(Colleague:) Uh, �Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head�?

(Boss:) (Sounding disgusted.) No, that�s not it. It�s a classical song. Like Chopin but not him.

(Colleague:) �Sitting on the Dock of the Bay�?

(Boss:) No. Now I remember. It was �Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini� by Rachmaninoff.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003