6:39 p.m. | 2003-03-23

The Name Game.

I read an article today about the burdens and joys of having an unusual name. For the most part, people with odd names tend to hate them when they�re young (fodder for teasing) but grow to love them in time. And although there�s no solid proof that unusual names shape a person, I think they do. After all, it�s the very first, and most personal, label that we carry.

Most kids have hippie parents to thank for their unique labels. Here are some gems which were featured in the article.

Sunflower Sparkle Mars

Rainbow Harmony

Mahala Indra Mahsha

Halona Pema Tsering

Willowsong

I�ve known a few people with interesting names. There were the twins, Sunny and Stormy. And the little girl, Diamond. But by far, my favorite was the man who always went by P.M. What did that stand for? Pleasant Moment. I think it�s nice to know that your conception was enjoyed although the middle name of �Moment� takes away from that a little.

Burdens tend to include lots of teasing, constantly repeating and/or spelling your name and the inability to blend easily into the crowd. While joys include an unforgettable name, a singular uniqueness and the lessons you learn from the burdens.

I, myself, have a pretty regular name. It�s not unheard of, it�s easy to spell and yet uncommon enough that people remember it. Interestingly, the other day, someone told me I have a �cute� name. In all of my 38 years, I�ve never heard that before and I think it�s because my name isn�t really �cute�. But, hey whatever. If someone wants to appreciate my name, more power to �em.

I'm just glad my name isn't Frank Chuck. That would just be wrong on so many levels.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003