6:38 p.m. | 2003-04-13

I Don�t Have A Leg To Stand On. Good Thing I Have Two.

When I woke on Saturday morning, before I�d fully tuned in to the soothing sounds of raindrops on tin awnings, I indulged in a deep, full-body stretch. I�m somewhat of a connoisseur of stretching and I must say, I�ve learned a lot about it from watching cats. They�re the true experts.

Anyway, right in the middle of this luxurious, glorious, head-to-toe stretch, my left calf muscle seized. It didn�t cramp, it didn�t spaz, it fucking SEIZED. I immediately bolted upright, grabbed my leg and jumped outta bed. And, I swore. A lot. I don�t know the proper protocol to follow when a random muscle seizes, but that�s what I did.

It lasted for about 3 minutes, which is about 3 minutes too long, and then it stopped abruptly. Everything returned to normal, so I went about my business without giving it a second thought.

Until Saturday night. I went to stand up and my left calf muscle roared in protest. It�s continued to be quite painful since. I can walk on it, but I can�t put my full weight on it, which makes the stairs a little difficult.

But hey, at least it�s not seizing. That shit hurt bad.


It�s been a rainy weekend but productive. Cooking, cleaning, laundry, errands� the usual stuff. Lots and lots of reading too. There�s nothing quite like curling up with a great book in a nice comfy chair listening to beautiful music punctuated by the sound of raindrops.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003