8:29 p.m. | 2003-04-15

You Get By With A Little Help From Your Friends.

One beautiful fall Saturday, back when I was in my first year of law school, I was deeply engrossed in my studies when I received a phone call from a girlfriend (Jane). She and her 8-year-old daughter (Janey) had gone to an annual fall event in a remote place about an hour from MyTown. They had invited me, of course, and I really wanted to go, but my homework just stretched endlessly before me so I declined.

Anyway, Jane called me because they were ready to come home but had lost the car keys, and couldn�t get a hold of her husband. As I had a key to their home (for house sitting and such), she asked if I would go to their house, get the spare key and bring it to her. I could just hear my homework hours falling to the floor and shattering into a thousand pieces.

Because she was stranded and I�m a good friend, I agreed. Fortunately, she only lived a couple of miles from me, so it didn�t take much time to retrieve the spare key. I then headed out to the middle of nowhere. As this particular annual event is very, very popular, the normal hour drive was two hours long due to traffic backups. It took another 20 minutes to find a parking place.

Then I set out to find Jane and Janey amongst the thousands of people. She told me where they would be waiting, but as I�d never been there before, it took me some time to find that location. After I found her and Janey, she suggested that, since I was there, I should see a few things. We wandered around a little bit and then I insisted that I must get back and get crackin� on the books again. It was right about then when Janey suddenly exclaimed: �Hey Mom, look what I found!�

Yeah. The car keys. Janey was wearing some sort of fashionable cargo pants that had at least a hundred pockets. And, she forgot to check that one super-secure pocket on her lower leg. She put the keys in that special pocket to make sure they wouldn�t lose them.

See, that�s why they make kids so goddamned cute. So you don�t kill �em when they do shit like that.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003