9:17 p.m. | 2003-04-29

What�s That You Say?

While Boss, Colleague and I were walking back from lunch today, Boss was discussing some of the things she needs to buy for her upcoming vacation. Here�s that.

(Boss:) I need to find a faux-emerald necklace.

(CI:) Well, where do you buy that kind of stuff? [I�m obviously not a shopper.]

(Colleague:) Hmmm. A [unintelligible as he was mumbling and talking fast].

(CI:) What did you say Colleague?!

(Colleague:) What do you think I said?

(CI:) It sounded like you said �a mofo�.

(Boss:) A what?

(CI:) A �mofo�.

(Colleague:) No! I said �faux-emerald�.

(Boss:) What�s a �mofo�.

(Colleague:) I�ll let you tell her, Cruel-Irony.


I was riding the shuttle to my car today when I overheard a rather interesting conversation. Outside of the driver (male), there were 2 women (including me) and 3 men on the shuttle. We all park in the same lot and work Downtown, but we don�t all work at the same place, so some people know each other and some don�t. I didn�t know anyone on the shuttle, albeit I�ve seen them before.

Anyway, all the men were sitting behind the other lady and myself. One of the men struck up a conversation with one of the other guys. This is that.

(Man#1:) Are you going to the BigConference this year?

(Man#2:) I�m not sure yet.

(Man#1:) It�s going to be in ThisCity this year.

(Man#2:) Yeah. The best thing about going there would be the beaches.

(Man#1:) Yeah. So what beaches do you go to?

(Man#2:) Oh, ThisOne or ThatOne. Usually.

(Man#1:) Those are both good beaches. Especially if you just want to kick back. You know, if you go just for the beach. But, if you�re going for the ladies, then it depends on what you�re looking for. You know, what kind of fish you wanna get. Cause those fishes are territorial and they all go to different beaches for different things. You know how they are. So, if you want this kind of fish, then you want to go to here, but go there if you want that kind of fish that�

(Man#2:) I�m just interested in the beach.

(Man#1:) Oh. Then ThisOne or ThatOne would work. But, really, if you�re gonna go all the way there, you should at least go by this beach because, those fish� WOW! Those are some crazy fish, you know?

The funny thing was that Man#1 really seemed to think that we were all fooled by his fish euphemism. I don�t know what I found more surprising � the presumption that we were that stupid, or the fact he was referring to women as �fish�.

Even funnier though, was that Man#2 was sitting right behind me and I could tell that he so wanted to tell Man#1 to shut the fuck up. And, kick him.


It was a productive day at work though. And, oh can I feel the pain. My arms, left hip and head are killing me. Oh, and the spasms. Man I wish they�d stop.

That, the cold and the rain. Where oh where did Spring go?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003