9:24 p.m. | 2003-06-17

The Busier We Get, The More We Laugh.

One of the best things about my WorkPlace Division is that we all understand the therapeutic effects of laughing when everything gets all crazy. Today was a crazy, busy day so we took the opportunity to share that lesson with Intern.

Boss sent Intern across the street to MyOtherWorkPlace all by himself today to watch some important proceedings. Actually, the same proceedings we were all listening to and/or watching from the comfort of our desks. Sometimes, it�s really important that we have as many pairs of eyes and ears as we can get focused in the same direction.

Of course, unbeknownst to Intern, Boss knew that there�d be some rather interesting things going on because, when we hit our busy season, everybody gets a little wacky. Intern came back� um� �enlightened�. I guess. I�m not sure that�s the right word, but it�ll work. Then we explained some things to him. It�s hard to explain, but we laughed a lot. Not about Intern or anyone else for that matter. Just the funny stuff that happens.

I�d share it with you but it�s not really funny unless you know all the people involved, the complete history of most of the happenings and all our inside jokes. The important part is that we laughed a lot today. We needed that.


Oh yeah, Another Colleague reminded me that MyHero is coming to the office tomorrow. Then Boss told me that our Division has been summoned to be present and answer questions at the very meeting that MyHero is hosting. Yikes! You know, my crush on him really works better at a distance. Not in the same room with him. Geez.

You know, it just these types of occasions when any sort of short-term memory would be handy. Actually, my short-term memory is still pretty good. It just needs some prodding to surface. Especially during super busy times. Like now. Here�s an example.

(Boss:) Cruel-Irony, what�s the status of this assignment?

(CI:) Is that mine? It doesn�t sound familiar. What�s it about?

(Boss:) (Rolls her eyes.) Yes, it�s yours. It�s about this or that.

(CI:) Oh, that kind of rings a bell. Vaguely. Is that from last year?

(Boss:) (Rolls her eyes and sighs.) No, it�s from this year.

(CI:) Let me pull the file. (Pulls file.) Oh yeah. Now I remember. I just analyzed this last week. On Wednesday. I was wearing this and that. And, I talked to this person and that person�.

And, on and on I go. It�s a little scary how much I rely on my actual physical files to refresh my memory. I used to keep on that stuff in my head, but apparently there�s no more room up in there. I think I have a really small brain. It fills up quickly.

Of course, Boss kind of plays a hand in that problem. See, since I�m the closest person to her � Colleague is on the other side of the building; don�t ask � she grills me about his files also. Randomly. Just about the time I think I�ve completely lost my mind, one of us realizes that it�s not my file and she calls Colleague. Which is why I don�t need to do any sort of aerobic exercise. Boss manipulates my heart rate daily much like an insider trader manipulates the stock market. In fact, my heart rate �spikes� a lot during the day and then it �flatlines� once I get home. Well, before I decided to move.


Speaking of moving, every thing is going well with that. I think. I mean, I haven�t actually packed anything yet but I�m still purging and taking care of other related matters.

Well, actually, now that I mention it, I am having some little problems. Like, I have more trash than can fit in my trash can, I don�t have any room to put any packed boxes because all my spare space is filled with stuff that I�m donating, and I�m not sure that I have enough boxes. However, those are minor moving issues to me and hopefully, they�ll be resolved soon.

The charity folks are scheduled to pick up the stuff I�m purging next week. (Except the trash, of course.) That�ll free up a ton of space. And, I set up another connection for free boxes. Now, I�ll just have to sneak out in the middle of the night and stuff my extra trash in other people�s trashcans. Or just ask my neighbors if it�s okay to use their cans. So to speak. I do have to say that I do feel much better � even zen-like � getting rid of all this extraneous stuff I�ve been hauling around/storing.

And, I�m so excited that in a couple of weeks, I�ll be walking to work. It�ll be about 3 blocks from my front door to the door of MyWorkPlace! Woohoo! Currently, I walk about 4 blocks from my shuttle stop to work. It�ll be so cool to walk to/home from work in about 5 minutes. No more traffic angst!


As the move gets closer, I�ll probably be a little more sporadic in my updating. However, I�m quite sure that won�t have a major � or even minor � impact on any of you. I�m just letting you know now so you don�t worry that I�ve been abducted by aliens, Boss has chained me to my desk or that hell froze over and I�ve been entombed in ice. Because, you know, if I�m going anywhere, it�ll be straight to hell. I�m sure Satan already has quite a dossier on me.


An interesting �girlfriend� (read: female friend) situation came up in my recent conversations with Bestest Girlfriend (BG). So, I thought I�d give you guys a chance to weigh in on the subject because I just feel like doing something different.

Here�s the situation. BG and her boyfriend (BGB) set up one of her college friends (CFG) with one of his college friends (CFB). They all went out together and their friends are interested in each other.

So then, CFB called CFG and set up a �first date�. However, on the day that they were to go out, CFG�s female roomate�s father committed suicide. CFG�s female roommate told her to go ahead and go on the date � that she�d be fine.

The question: Would you go on the date or would you reschedule it for another time?

If you want to participate, feel free to send me a note, sign my guestbook or email me. In my next update, I�ll tell you what BG and I would do. It�s kind of like a survey without the actual survey. Or a quiz question without the quiz. Heh.

Note: Any gentlemen who want to participate, reverse the sexes of CFB and CFG and answer accordingly. Or actually, anyone who wants to can answer from any perspective they choose.

See, that�s at least one reason why I don�t have any surveys or do any quizzes right there. It�s my unconventional ways. Of course, you know my unconventional ways are going to land me the coveted �eccentric lady� label someday. Well, at least a girl can dream, right?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003