9:42 p.m. | 2003-06-26

Oh, The Irony Of It All Is Just So Lovely.

I don�t really know how to explain the conversation I had with Intern today. I�ll let you try to figure it all out. Here it is.

(CI:) Just call me on my cell phone.

(I:) (Immediately busted up laughing, and continued laughing. For a long time. At least, it seemed like a long time.) WHAT?!

(CI:) Oh, that�s right. I don�t have a cell phone. Cell phones are my archenemies.

(I:) (Shaking his head in disbelief.) How is it even possible for those particular words to come out of your mouth?!

(CI:) (Shrugging shoulders.) It�s a gift. Despite the fact that I am a complete idiot when it comes to current technology, I�ll have you know that I had a mobile phone, email account and internet access 10 years ago. Before you were even a teenager.

(I:) Well, maybe someday, you�ll learn how to use all that.

(CI:) Maybe. But, I�ll have you know that I also have a computer science degree. In fact, I used to be a computer programmer.

(I:) (Rolling his eyes.) Yeah, right.

(CI:) Seriously. Of course, that was back in the DOS days. You know, before they had Windows.

(I:) Oh, I kind of remember that. We had to take a computer class when I was in grade school. It was awful. You would turn on the computer and all these weird things were on the screen like a �C� and symbols and stuff. It was really hard to understand. And, it was just stupid. I don�t even know why they made us take that class. What a waste of time.

(CI:) Those weird symbols were DOS. While you were taking that class, I was programming computers. In fact, I had to train other people to use computers. I WAS the �Help Desk�.

(I:) That�s pretty hard to believe.

(CI:) I know. It�s strange but true.

Just for the record, I can't wait to tell him that I took my computer apart tonight to tackle a vexing, little hardware problem that needed some old fashioned tinkering.

Anyway, while he was driving me to my car, we heard a cell phone ring twice. His phone was off. This is that.

(I:) Whoa. What was THAT?

(CI:) That, my friend, was my cell phone. You know, the one I don�t have.

I think that hair on the back of his neck stood up. That�ll teach him to not to pooh-pooh my current technological ignorance.


I LOVE the Charity Truck. I was a little worried that they might not show up and I�d come home to a driveway full of my junk. However, I came home and my driveway was gloriously empty. Well, except for the wire whip that was left behind. No, it�s not THAT kind of whip. It�s the kitchen kind of whip. Not that you can�t use THAT kind of whip in the kitchen, or that you can�t use a kitchen whip in THAT way. And, not that I have a whip or don�t have a whip or am indifferent to whips.

Here�s where I just move on, ignoring that whole topic.

The Charity Truck left me a notice that they�d been by. On said notice, it states the following:

�Note: All items picked up at the Drivers [sic] Discretion.� (I don�t know why driver�s discretion is capitalized, but that�s neither here nor there.)

Anyway, I think my kitchen utensil was left behind by accident rather than at the discretion of the driver. I mean, for goodness sakes, I donated much crappier junk than that and they took it all.

Then again, maybe they just don�t take whips. I�m just saying.


It�s difficult to express just how wonderful it is that they came and took all my junk away. I mean, it�s just gone. It�s a beautiful thing. Normally, in all the last minute scrambles to move, I would have moved all that stuff and then would have crammed it into every nook and cranny of my house because I hate clutter. It�s like getting rid of all the clutter. For good.

Since the movers come on the third, I guess I should start packing huh?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003