10:40 p.m. | 2003-06-30

Life Is Just Too Ironic Sometimes.

It�s weird not to have TV. Not that I can�t live without it. In fact, sometimes I just flip it on for background noise, and sometimes, I don't turn it on at all. However, it�s a whole different thing when you just don�t have TV anymore.

The last thing I saw on TV last night, before I turned it off to disconnect the cable box, was Dick Wolf�s name. Since I�m his bitch, I found that quite fitting. I�ve still haven�t weaned myself from any form of Law & Order, and since it just keeps on going in one form or another, I think I�m safe for the next year or so. Or forty.


I went to the deli for lunch today and was waited upon by a one of the cute young guys. He even gave me two pickles, just because he knows I like them. He also knocked on the counter at the end of our interaction.

That�s some sort of special acknowledgement that the Owner (O) does for regulars, and apparently, some of the youngsters have picked up on that.

Then, I took my lunch up to the register where I was waited upon by the Owner. Here�s that.

(O:) What�d you have today?

(CI:) A gyro and potato salad. (I planned on getting a BBQ beef sandwich and pasta salad � whole different story there.)

(O:) That�ll be $733 for the gorgeous young lady.

(CI:) (Handing him $8.) Thanks.

(O:) This is all for YOU, Princess. (Dramatically �pouring� the change into my hands and knocking on the counter.)

The counting in hundreds and knocking on the counter all have to do with the �Vegas� kind of style they have. I can�t explain it, but for some reason, I find it endearing. It�s certainly unique. As is calling me �princess�, for that matter.


Since I had to drop off my cable box after work, I paid to park downtown today. Fortunately, Boss told me to take off at 3:00pm � because I have so much to do � so I was able to avoid rush hour traffic for the most part.

See, the cable place is way out of my regular roaming territory. It�s in an industrial part of town actually. I got there, pulled up next to a car and proceeded to gather my box. Imagine my surprise when I saw a youngster (about 6) pop up off the floor of the car parked next to me. He�d been hiding. Rightfully so, as he and his infant sibling had been left alone in the car. I wasn�t sure if the fact that the windows were down was a good thing or not. It was about 100 degrees today, so it was good that they had air, however, it does make it easier for someone to snatch them when the windows are down.

I checked on them, and then took my box inside. Imagine my surprise to find a big long line of people. Apparently, quite a few people come to cable�s mother ship to pay down on their bill. Their computers were down too, so that was delaying things. While I was waiting, I tried to determine which person had left their kids in the car. Interesting exercise.

Just for the record, that kind of thing really pisses me off.

And, I must say that I was surprised that they have bullet-proof windows at their counter and bullet-proof depositories � on the counter � for the return of boxes. Apparently, some people get really pissed off with the cable folks.

Anyway, I turned in my box, got back in my car and drove towards home. Right before I got home I stopped at the store.


I had a few things I needed. Plus, I had to buy a pack of cigarettes because I lost a bet. Not that I�m a betting kinda person at all; I just didn�t realize he was serious. I�m not quite sure what all this means, but I lost a bet to a man who smokes Virginia Slims Light.

Anyway, I gathered up my various items and proceeded to the checkout stand. A very handsome young man (YM) handled my transaction. Here�s that.

(CI:) Also, I need a pack of� (closing my eyes and thinking hard), Virginia Slims. Light. Virginia Slims Light. Please.

(YM:) Can I see your ID, please?

(CI:) (Chuckling.) Of course.

(YM:) THAT picture doesn�t do you justice at all. Not at all. You are sooo pretty.

(CI:) Well, thank you. They took that picture about 10 years ago and insist on plastering on every driver�s license they send me. Personally, I think this picture is better (pointing to my work ID).

(YM:) Hmm. It�s better but it still doesn�t capture your beauty.

(CI:) Um, thanks.

What is up with all these random comments today?


Oh well. Back to the irony.

When I got home (AT 5:00pm!), there was a cable bill in my mailbox. For next month. Hmmm, I canceled my cable, returned the box and they sent me a bill for future service. I guess I�ll be calling them tomorrow.


I checked the mail, watered, said hi to Mr. Engineer and was ready to pack. Alas, Dearest Sister called. As always, it was great to talk to her. Due to her conversation, I think I found a solution to a pending, pesky little problem. And, of course, we solved all the problems in the world. Thought you�d want to know about that.

Then I packed exactly two more boxes. I�m starting to believe that I AM Eloise.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003