11:37 p.m. | 2003-07-01

I Know Myself Well.

I said I�d be loving AND hating myself tonight and tomorrow and it�s so true.

I�m really loving myself because I went through most of my stuff and purged a bunch of it. It has made packing a lot easier, however, I�m hating myself because I�ve really pushed it to the last minute. Now I�m panic-packing. Just grabbing boxes and throwing stuff in it. Rinse and repeat.

More than likely though, I�m packing stuff I want to keep. Rather than crap. I believe this is the first time I�ve actually taken the trouble to purge BEFORE moving. I�d recommend it. Perhaps purging when I�m not moving might be worth checking out also. If it were possible, I�d have them isolate my pack-rat gene and destroy it. Gah.

Unfortunately, I still have some stuff to pack in the kitchen, diningroom and bathroom. Then, there�s that whole library of books in my office and the clothes in my dresser. That rule the movers have about only moving empty furniture is a good thing as it helped facilitate my purging. But it takes up a lot of boxes, you know?


I called my auto insurance company (AIC) today to change my address. This is that.

(AIC:) Hi, this is Missy Miss. How can I help you today?

(CI:) I just need to change my address.

(AIC:) Okay. What�s your new address?

(CI:) TheHotel.

(AIC:) How many miles will you be driving to work?

(CI:) None. Absolutely zero. I�ll be walking to work.

(AIC:) Wow! Really?

(CI:) Yeah, about two blocks.

(AIC:) Two blocks?! That is so cool! Did it take a really long time to find MyHotel or did you just get lucky?

(CI:) No. Just pure luck. I wasn�t even planning on moving. I just found it and decided to move.

(AIC:) That�s really cool. You can go home for lunch and still have most of your lunch hour since it�ll only take a couple of minutes. Wow!

(CI:) Yeah. If you check my records, you�ll notice that I�ve been slowly but surely shortening my commute miles over the years. (I�ve been insured with them for 20 years.) In fact, I think the only way I could get closer to work at this point would be to move into my office.

(AIC:) I think you�re right. Two blocks� that�d be so cool to walk to work.

(CI:) And, get this, that two blocks is in MyPark. I get to walk through MyPark to get to work and back.

(AIC:) Two blocks through MyPark?!

Honestly, I�ve never had so many different people excited about �my move� before. It definitely keeps the whole idea exciting while I plow through all this miserable packing and whatnot.


I also had an interesting conversation with MyBank today. Boss had to stop in so I decided to change my address right at a teller window. Just for the record, I don�t know the last time I was actually inside of MyBank as most transactions occur via other methods. Anyway, here�s that.

(Teller:) Hi, how can I help you today?

(CI:) Hi. I�m moving; I just need to change my address.

(Teller:) On your checking account?

(CI:) Um, well, on all my accounts, actually.

(Teller:) (Embarrassed.) Of course. I�m sorry. I don�t even know why I said that. Well, actually, I do. It�s near the end of the day and I�m tired.

(CI:) That�s okay. Me too.


To round out my interesting conversations, I picked up lunch at the deli yet again today. While I was waiting to order, I noticed that the cute young man (CYM) who helped me yesterday was helping one of his buddies. See, I think CYM is going to college and is in a fraternity. Just a guess� he�s been wearing a frat T-shirt lately and now he�s being teased/harassed by other young men his age while at work. I smell a �frat�.

Anyway, the Owner (O) took my order today and made my sandwich. Obviously O is CYM�s (�FratBrat� henceforward) boss. While they were both busy working, about 10 people came in at once. Here�s the conversation between O and FratBrat (FB).

(O:) You must be taking your time making that sandwich for your friend. Look at the long line of customers. Don�t think you can be slow just because it�s your friend.

(FB:) I haven�t been slow. These people just came in. It�s taken me just as long as it usually does to make this sandwich. And, look at it (placing it on his friend�s tray). This is art. It should be featured in a magazine instead of eaten. Just like all the sandwiches I make.

And, I have to say, it was a very �pretty� sandwich.

Now, while O was preparing my lunch, he managed � I don�t know exactly how this happened � to call me �Babe�, �Princess� and �Gorgeous�. If you ask me, those are perfectly wonderful condiments for a sandwich. But, that�s just my opinion.

As I wanted my lunch to go, he wrote on the price on the bag. I thanked him, went to the counter and paid his son � who knocked on the counter � and went back to the office. When I went to eat, I noticed that he�d written the price, penned the word �Hot� and scribbled a happy face on my bag. And, knowing my passion for pickles, he gave me a whole pickle instead of a spear, and it wasn�t dill� it was rather spicy. And very good.

Ever since I decided to move to TheHotel, it�s like I�m reeking of some terribly intoxicating pheromone. Really, it�s quite odd. Men have been winking at me, holding doors open, complimenting me, whistling, etc.

But don�t worry because nature always balances out the good with the bad. Hence, I came home and packed, cut the top of my foot open with the tape dispenser and stepped on my sunglasses. I need more boxes, I�m glad I haven�t packed the bandages yet and I�m seeing new sunglasses in my very near future.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003