1:34 a.m. | 2003-08-15

Goodbye My Friend. Until We Meet Again.

Are those song lyrics? They just popped into my mind, sans any musical accompaniment, so I�m not sure.

No matter. The good thing is that my sadness is gone. Not forgotten mind you, just gone for the moment.


Today, I analyzed a 50-page document outside of my topical (wishing to be tropical) areas. What the fuck am I talking about? Well see, I analyze things pertaining to certain topics, and Colleague analyzes things pertaining to other certain topics and then there are the documents that Outcast Colleague used to analyze that fall into yet other topical areas. (Since Outcast Colleague left, Colleague and I have had to cover his workload too.)

Our Division's all about topics. I wish we were all about the tropics, but why split hairs.

I�ve been avoiding this particular document, as it�s quite complex, and I�m much more comfortable roaming about in my own territories. However, I finally faced the music and just got it done. And, of course, I feel much better now. I learned about a bunch of stuff too. Not necessarily things that I want to know about, but I�m sure it�ll come in handy someday. Plus, there weren�t any cows in this document. Flamethrowers yes, cows no.

Oh, and don�t misunderstand me� I like cows in general, just not so much when they show up in my documents. They really just need to stay in the fields, know what I mean?


Since I have tomorrow off, I went out tonight. That just seemed right to me somehow. And, it worked. I�m all better now. Relaxed, calm and peaceful. Which is good because I have to go to the dentist tomorrow.

Actually, dentistry didn�t use to bother me at all. Oddly, in fact, my dentists used to tell me that I would make a perfect �dentistry model� � for practicing dental students � because I was always so calm and unperturbed by all things dental.

Not so much anymore. Since I got the fibro, things have changed. First off, the roof of my mouth is inexplicably ticklish and, secondly, I have difficulty sitting in the same position for any length of time. I�m still not fearful or squeamish at such visits but I�m a little giggly and restless.

But, it�s just a cleaning, so it won�t take long.


Oh, and at lunch, Colleague jinxed me again by asking me if I�ve seen OurBoss at TheHotel. Here�s that.

(C:) So, have you seen OurBoss at TheHotel yet?

(CI:) Argh. Stop it!

(C:) Stop what?

(CI:) Stop jinxing me! Oh, I can�t even believe you�d ask me such a thing. Especially after what happened last time.

(C:) What �last time�? What are you talking about?

(CI:) Oh yeah, I never told you because YOU were on VACATION. See, last time you asked me if I�d seen OurBoss, you jinxed me. So, I ran into him that night � for the first time � while I was unloading my groceries and carrying a HUGE package of TOILET PAPER.

(C:) (Chuckling.) Well, that was probably a little uncomfortable. Funny, but uncomfortable.

(CI:) Yeah. Ha. Ha. Then, it got worse. OurBoss seeing me reminded him that he hadn�t met with us lately so then he called that meeting the next day.

(C:) I remember the meeting.

(CI:) That meeting where I got all the new assignments because you were going on vacation? Remember that part?

(C:) No, I don�t. Really? Did you get new assignments?

(CI:) Yeah, I got like five new assignments. And, then OurBoss looked at me the whole time. See, that�s because of the whole toilet paper incident.

(C:) I didn�t realize he was looking at you. I just remember that he barely looked at me.

(CI:) That�s probably because he didn�t see you the night before wearing overall shorts and carrying toilet paper.

(C:) Well, it�s not likely that he�d ever see ME wearing overall shorts and carrying toilet paper. That�s funny.

(CI:) Ha. Ha. Then see what you do? I�m barely over that and you jinx me AGAIN. I�m gonna have to sneak around TheHotel now. But, you know eventually that jinx is gonna put me in awkward moment.

(C:) Wow. And, to think that BFB (Boss� Former Boss) always says that I don�t have a plan. Apparently, I�ve got a Master Plan.

(CI:) Just quick jinxing me. That�s all I�m asking for, you bastard.

You know my day of reckoning is coming. Lets just hope that it�s less embarrassing than carrying a huge package of toilet paper. Maybe a flamethrower?

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003