12:10 a.m. | 2003-08-17

Hey Now.

I spent the day with my friend, Drummer. For those of you not in the know, you stand a better chance of seeing an albino lizard than spending a whole day with Drum. He�s always on the go. Always.

But, we both cleared our calendars for today. We have a way of balancing each other when we�re precariously out of balance. It�s an unspoken thing though. We just seem to sense it in one another.

Anyway, we met up in OldTown to check out a new restaurant on the river. He was late-late, as usual. First he called to tell me he was running late, then he arrived even later. However, he�s one of my many Gemini friends so I expected that. No issue there. I spent my time people watching and conversing with the tourists.


The new restaurant is cool. We relaxed outside watching the boats, drinking fruity drinks and eating. Of course, there was a lot of conversation going on too. Afterwards, we wandered down to the river and met some boaters and people visiting from other places, such as Norway and the like.

Actually, we didn�t see much of OldTown. We just wandered from one relaxing place to the next � places that only regulars know exist � talking the whole time.

And, we witnessed some interesting things� like the two guys who were walking down the street. One was carrying a blow-up doll that was dressed and wearing Mardi Gras beads. You know Drum had to comment on that. To whit.

(Drum:) Hey, that�s MY doll!

(Guy:) (Turning the doll so we could see her face.)

(Drum:) Oh. No. That�s not her. Nevermind.


I also learned a new approach for solicitors and panhandlers. This is that.

(LittleGirl:) Excuse me sir, would you like to buy some candy? I�m trying to raise money so I can go to AmusementPark.

(Drum:) No, I�m fine. Thanks.

After we passed her, Drum and I had this conversation.

(CI:) I like how you reassured her that you were fine. I really like that twist.

(Drum:) Well, it�s like �I�m fine. I�m not feeling guilty enough right now to give you my money�.

(CI:) I�m so gonna steal that line from you. Now that I work AND live Downtown, I get hit up for money all the time. I feel for the people, but you know, I can�t support them all everyday.

(Drum:) Yeah, it works good on the people who�re asking for money. I�m already way past them before they even figure out what it was that I said.

(CI:) Yet it sounds really nice too. I like it.


Now, both Drum and I know a lot of people in town. Going anywhere takes quite a bit of time because we run into those people. When were together? It takes all day. That�s why we hide out. But, on the way back, we did run into one of Drum�s friends (DF). Here�s that.

(Drum:) Hey DF! How�s it going?

(DF:) Hey Drummer! Hi CI! (Hugs me.) Did you shrink since I last saw you CI?

(CI:) Uh, maybe. I don�t know.

(DF:) You look shorter.

(Drum:) Hey, do you guys see that young lady over there? The one wearing the rather strange hat?

(CI:) Yeah, I see her.

(DF:) Where?

(Drum:) Right over there. Watch her walk� she�s pigeon-toed, bow-legged and knock-kneed all at the same time. That�s amazing.

(CI:) Oh, she is! I�ve never seen that combination before. She�s really cute and she has a really fascinating gait.

(DF:) Where?

(Drum:) She�s right over there. And, I�m not trying to say something negative, it�s just that I�ve never seen anyone walk like that before. That�s interesting.

(CI:) Well, and she�s wearing heels. That is interesting.

We eventually said our goodbyes and walked most of the way home together. (Drummer lives a little further out of Downtown than I do.) We spent most of that time discussing the history of MyTown and the nation in general.

And, that was �light� conversation for us. We tend to tackle really serious subjects when we meet up. One of my most valued things is our friendship. He has a rather unbelievable life story, except that it�s true. He�s also got a whole hell of a lot of wisdom.

In fact, you�d more than likely come across an albino lizard than know someone with his life history. I consider myself very blessed in that regard.

your thoughts?

seed flower

JournalCon 2003